PDA

View Full Version : Teclis and Casting spells



WazDak84
03-04-2009, 19:14
Just in the middle of a game and are checking whether Teclis always casts on a double?

For example if you require 12 to cast and role 4,4 and 2. Does the spell cast irresistably even though he has not cast the spell?

Lord Yawgmoth
03-04-2009, 19:17
No.

He doesn't cast unless he meets the Casting roll.


"...any SUCCESSFUL cast, which includes a double...."

EvC
03-04-2009, 19:56
Out of interest, why are you checking here rather than your rulebook?

Spirit
03-04-2009, 20:03
Because the word successful can be easy to miss or be quite ambiguous to people who haven't known the rules for years?

I would have said successful was non miscast until shown otherwise on these forums.

selone
03-04-2009, 22:51
Out of interest, why are you checking here rather than your rulebook?

TBF that's not a hard to make mistake, the bigger issue is the lack of search functioning ;)

narrativium
03-04-2009, 23:06
He could find the "IF on a double" well enough. And, what's ambiguous about the word "successful"?

Spirit
03-04-2009, 23:48
Its ambiguous because the rule is "successful" which means "above the casting value and does not miscast"

The two do not sound similar and could easily be open to interpretation. Especially if you are getting to grips with the rules. GW is not known for spelling things out, this is clear with most of the new army books, never mind the old ones.

EvC
03-04-2009, 23:54
Well that is pretty much what I was asking, yes! If you haven't checked in addition what "successfully cast" means then I guess the army book alone is insufficent.

Spirit
04-04-2009, 00:09
Glad i answered you with my age old noobishness :P

garythewargamer
04-04-2009, 15:08
A very good question and now you know the answer. And the place to go read it. I read the book all the time and discover new pearls of wisdom that I apparently missed the first dozen times. I like the search system here but mostly I forget to use it. Hey I am only human.