PDA

View Full Version : Can a unit have 2 ward saves in this case?



AramilSairSianontel
06-04-2009, 09:17
So, my question is this: I have a unit of Phoenix guard-if i put a sorcerer with loremaster's cloak in it the whole unit and the charakter get 2+ ward against wounds caused by spells. The phoenix guard already has 4+ ward. So if they miss their 2+ ward against a wound caused by a spell do they get to roll in the 4+ or they don't get it at all?

danny-d-b
06-04-2009, 09:19
you can have anynumber of wardsaves, but you can only take 1 at any turn
so if your effected by a spell you get a 2+ ward save (but if you fail you don't get a 4+)
if you effected by something non magic you get your 4+

AramilSairSianontel
06-04-2009, 09:21
Thanks for the immediate response danny-d-b your opinion is backed by the rulebook right?

danny-d-b
06-04-2009, 09:46
Thanks for the immediate response danny-d-b your opinion is backed by the rulebook right?

I'm sure I've seen it somewhere, I'll have a look through the book for you, but I defentaly rember reading that you may only take the best ward save you have, and you only may take one ward save a wound

AramilSairSianontel
06-04-2009, 10:04
ok dude thnks. :)

Braad
06-04-2009, 10:36
Page 30, in the box in the lower right corner: "if a model has two ward saves for any reason, use the better ward save"

AramilSairSianontel
06-04-2009, 17:20
thanks! I confirmed it myself-i guess we're going for Phoenix guard list....

Goruax
06-04-2009, 21:31
Also, does the Loremaster's cloak confer the 2+ Ward to the entire unit?
If not, then it won't be useful unless he himself is targetted (either directly, or through 'every model')

Kalandros
06-04-2009, 21:32
It does give the Wardsave to the entire unit the character joins.