PDA

View Full Version : Codex Creep

Eldartank
07-04-2009, 01:45
I just started playing Warhammer 40,000 again (still not 100% used to the new 5th edition rules yet). Although I collected all the latest rulebooks and codices and glanced through them, I haven't played for a few years. I did spend lots of time collecting and painting new miniatures. I have a nice Crimson Fists army, and a nice Tyranid army, among others. After playing a game at my local game store, and reading through some of the codices, I've noticed that there doesn't seem to be quite the "codex creep" that was so prevalent in the 3rd Edition. Normal Codex Space Marines are actually worth playing again! I'm curious to see what others think, if they share my opinion or have a totally different view of things.

Note that I'm not looking for a debate. If you think the "codex creep" is far worse than 3rd edition, or if you think 40k is absolutely the worst game ever invented, I will totally respect your opinion since this is only a game, and I personally like what I see of this latest edition so far.

self biased
07-04-2009, 02:09
we'll see. so far the current trend starting with orks is that everything's broken.

ehlijen
07-04-2009, 02:16
Everything is broken, including any and all absolute statements :p.

For every codex, there's someone willing to shout 'broken'. Twice that many if it's the most recent one.

DarkMatter2
07-04-2009, 02:18
The new Guard codex looks to be about right IMHO.

RichBlake
07-04-2009, 02:19
I've never bought into "codex creep" as such. I think that there will always be an element of it as some sort of super unit from one codex will encourage designers to put something in that lets armies deal with that sort of problem. Not as a specific fix to a specific unit, but as a generally "you can take this to deal with this type of unit".