PDA

View Full Version : Multiple combat



Crovax20
08-04-2009, 08:07
Hey guys, yesterday I was playing my first proper game of WotR. I got a charge off in the flank of a unit, that had charged one of my units in the front. How would one divide attacks?

Personally I thought that, he has to choose which company fights which company and whatever company can't fight counts as supporting. Which in that case would have meant 1 supporting company for him. His formation was 2 by 2 companies. Since he would have to direct at least one of the front companies to the front, the other has choice to fight to the front or side, one in the rear can only support, while the other fights to the side.

This would mean he would get 24+1 attacks -3 for a flank charge right?

He said that the rear company would get +3 dice because the others would count as supporting. And the companies to the front would get +2 because the ones in the rear are supporting those.

So what is it?

And we had a good laugh when Gimli failed to slay Saruman, he did epic strike where his fight became 10 and then heroic duel with saruman who is fight 4. He rolled a 1 and I rolled a 6. So that was 11 vs 10, he gets an extra because he called heroic and was at 12 FV and I spend all my 3 might and increase my score to 13 so he spends another 2 might to get 14 and makes one roll on the duel table and fails horribly. He would have anyhow since its pretty hard to kill a char with 1 roll on the duel table, but I kept coy ofcourse xD. You should have seen his face. After that Saruman got a 6 on his firebolt result and gibbed a lot of dwarfs for good measure xD. (Epic ruination for the win)

dtjunkie19
08-04-2009, 08:31
I believe that each company may split their attacks. If you have a block of 6 companies charging an enemy formation of 3 companies in the front and then gets charged by 4 more companies in the flank (see diagram):


6644000011112222
6644000011112222
6644aaaabbbbcccc
6644aaaabbbbcccc
7755ddddeeeehhhh
7755ddddeeeehhhh
7755
7755

With the letters being the 6 companies he is charging at your 012 formation and your 4567 formation charging his flank. His C can only attack 012, and h can only support against them. b can only attack 012 and e can support against either 012 or 4567. a can attack either 012 or 4567 but no matter what suffers -3 attacks. d can either support against 012 or attack 4567 but is also at -3 attacks no matter what. Hopefully that can answer your question

takaetun
08-04-2009, 09:04
Even companies in combat still count as supporting for other units in combat. For example, a 2x2 formation that is engaged on all sides has four companies in combat. Each of these companies would have their basic attacks, minus attacks for being flanked, possibly, plus 3 attacks for supporting companies, unless orcs or goblins.

lorelorn
08-04-2009, 10:21
No.

Top of page 48. "Companies that are not in base contact with the enemy formation do not receive combat modifiers or contribute dice based on their Attacks value. Instead they provide supporting attacks."

One or the other. Never both.

Rirekon
08-04-2009, 11:16
I believe that each company may split their attacks. If you have a block of 6 companies charging an enemy formation of 3 companies in the front and then gets charged by 4 more companies in the flank (see diagram):


6644000011112222
6644000011112222
6644aaaabbbbcccc
6644aaaabbbbcccc
7755ddddeeeehhhh
7755ddddeeeehhhh
7755
7755

With the letters being the 6 companies he is charging at your 012 formation and your 4567 formation charging his flank. His C can only attack 012, and h can only support against them. b can only attack 012 and e can support against either 012 or 4567. a can attack either 012 or 4567 but no matter what suffers -3 attacks. d can either support against 012 or attack 4567 but is also at -3 attacks no matter what. Hopefully that can answer your question

I thought you only got the flank modifiers if you were fighting to the flank (i.e. actually directing attacks in that direction)? Will have to re-read that section again.

Jorgen_CAB
08-04-2009, 11:47
I do not have the book at hand, but I was under the impression that every company in a flanked formation fights with a -3 penalty. Not just the companies that are engaged in the flank.

lorelorn
09-04-2009, 07:58
The bonus and penatly dice in the combat table are applied on a company by company basis, not a formation by formation basis.

So a company only receives the -3 attacks penalty if there are enemy in that company's flank. See page 47 for the detail.