PDA

View Full Version : Stegadon with hero charge arc



Vsurma
08-04-2009, 10:47
As I understand it the hero ontop has 360" los but does the steg still only have its 90" charge arc based on what the steg itself can see?

Considering monsters get free wheels the 360" charge arc would seem quite powerful, though I imagine this is not the case.

Thoughts?

Ikhoornix
08-04-2009, 11:18
why would the hero on top have a 360 degree line of sight when mounted?

Desert Rain
08-04-2009, 11:54
If a character is mounted on a monster/horse he has the same LOS as the mount, which is 90 degrees

Necromancy Black
08-04-2009, 11:58
As I understand it the hero ontop has 360" los

Nope, they don't.

Spirit
08-04-2009, 14:31
The stegadons used to have a rule that gave the crew on top 360 degree line of sight, but it was omitted this edition.

It means that all shooting attacks or line of sight (except the EOTG) must use the monsters arc of sight (i.e 90 degrees)

Grimgormx
08-04-2009, 17:35
Only characters on foot get the 360 LOS

Once mounted they use the LOS of the mount.

stripsteak
08-04-2009, 18:25
Only characters on foot get the 360 LOS

Once mounted they use the LOS of the mount.

you know what i play this way, but i just went looking and i can't find the rule that gives characters 360 line of sight. maybe i'm just missing it now but if someone could clarrify.

all i can find is
pg 8 - models have a front arc of sight. this is what gives everythign the base 90 LOS.
skirmishers are granted a 360 arc of sight
fast cav get 360 arc of sight for shooting
characters of US1 are only given the movement rules for skirmishers. they aren't given all the rules for skirmishers. this is different from what i thought, i was under the impression a lone character counted as a skirmisher, but they don't they only move like one(pg 72)

is there some page or line that i'm missing that gives lone us 1 characters 360 arc or sight?

Gazak Blacktoof
08-04-2009, 19:47
If you go to p.269 in the BIG Red Book (its not in the samll one) it clarifies what move a like skirmisher means.

ZoomDog
08-04-2009, 23:16
So a mounted character on it's own only has a 90 degree LOS?

theunwantedbeing
08-04-2009, 23:23
Yes....why on earth would you think otherwise?

Zoolander
08-04-2009, 23:26
So a mounted character on it's own only has a 90 degree LOS?

Yes because a man-sized character on foot is a skirmisher.

ZoomDog
08-04-2009, 23:28
I've always been told that a character on his own has a 360 degree. Never realised it was just those on foot.
Learn something new everyday. :)

Nurgling Chieftain
08-04-2009, 23:48
The distinguishing factor is US1. Any single US1 model has 360 LOS. This typically includes characters on foot on their own, but doesn't always; some characters have US3+ on their own and so do not get it.