PDA

View Full Version : 40k 4th edition rule book

newfiegod
16-04-2009, 20:04
I am just wondering if there is alot of changes between the 4th edition hardcover rule book compared to the new edition? Can you use the 4th edition to play or has there been that many changes? I am fairly new to this so any info would be greatly appreciated. I can get the book for twenty bucks so I think I may get it anyway but if i can use it even better.

Vaktathi
16-04-2009, 20:09
While the game plays mostly the same, the major differences are in the missions, wound allocations, vehicle damage table and defensive weapons rules, LoS, cover, close combat mechanics and consolidation, and some USR's.

It's a noticeable change, but it's not like going from 2nd ed to 3rd ed.

EDIT: forgot, get the 5E rulebook, the changes *are* big enough to warrant getting the new book. It's not like textbooks where they just change the cover picture and a couple answers.

Count de Monet
16-04-2009, 20:15
If you plan to play with other folks who are using 5th edition, it's not worth it - too many changes.

Also note that the mini-rulebook that comes with the Assault on Black Reach box set has all the rules for 5th ed, so if you were thinking about that set anyways, another reason to get it.

sigur
16-04-2009, 20:15
Don't get the 4th edition rulebook, get a current one.

Ubermensch Commander
16-04-2009, 20:16
I recommend buying the latest edition book. If you want the skimmed down version buy a copy of Battle for Black Reach. Its a great deal overall. If you only want the book, no templates or models, simply go in with a buddy or sell the things.

You cannot play 5th edition with 4th if that is what you are asking, and going backwards with Codices (5th edition SM codex or Imp Guard codex) is going to create issues. Again, recommend buying the latest edition.

newfiegod
16-04-2009, 20:23