PDA

View Full Version : Aiming for 1k, not sure what to cut.

dariakus
21-04-2009, 16:06
Playing a 1k game this week, and I'm trying to put together a list. What I've currently got is 44 points too large. I'm considering dropping a detachment, but I figured I'd toss it out to you guys and see if you all had any suggestions. I'm still relatively new to the Empire, so I trust you more than I trust myself for now

Heroes
Warrior Priest - 153p
* Enchanted Shield
* Heavy Armor
* Barded Warhorse
* Doomfire Ring

Battle Wizard - 130p
* Lv2 Upgrade
* Rod of Power

Core
Swordsmen x25 - 273p
* Full command
* Free Company x10 Detachment
* Archers x6 Detachment

Swordsmen x25 - 273p
* Full command
* Free Company x10 Detachment
* Archers x6 Detachment

Knightly Orders x5 - 115p

Special
Great Cannon - 100p

Total - 1044p

I could cut any one of my detachments and be gold. The question is, which to cut?

Thanks in advance for any advice/feedback you can provide. I look forward to it!

Malorian
21-04-2009, 16:35
Reduce the free company to 5 models each.

They might not be good for counter charging anymore, but they become perfect 50 point throw away units to control the movement phase.

dariakus
21-04-2009, 17:49
Would it make more sense to just drop one of the free company detachments altogether?

I'm trying to figure out the most effective way to use detachments of 5. I definitely like the idea of having those two small units. Just not sure how effective I can make them.

Tizz
21-04-2009, 17:52
I'd say drop the Rod of Power. I see little use for it in only 1k

dariakus
21-04-2009, 18:07
Dropping the rod basically means dropping the wizard and the Doomfire Ring--getting rid of magic altogether.

I suppose that's one possibility :)

dariakus
21-04-2009, 22:42
Updated list:

Heroes
Warrior Priest - 149p
* Armor of Meteoric Iron
* Doomfire Ring
* Great Weapon

Battle Wizard - 130p
* Lv2 Upgrade
* Rod of Power

Core
Swordsmen x23 - 248p (WP goes here)
* Full command