PDA

View Full Version : Balrog: Duel fodder?

Angelust
22-04-2009, 18:45
Hey guys.

I'm making a MM force, and I really like the Balrog (one of the models that drew me to the army).

I'm still very new to the rules, however, and I'd like to know before purchasing the model.

Is the Balrog a hero, a monster, a monstrous hero...??

Which means, theoretically, when he's out and about, can someone like Aragorn just call an epic duel, roll with a +1 (along with extra might points he wants to use), and just trash him in a duel despite his high fight value, defense, and attacks, etc?

i.e. Aragorn epic duels, rolls +5 (because of might), while Balrog rolls +3 because of might? It just seems pretty easy to get dead balrogs that way.

I'm sure I'm missing something. What makes these guys the "character killers", when guys like Boromir or other high Might heroes just seem like they'll dish the damage in duels.

Thanks!

PS: Does that mean the Balrog can use all the heroic actions, like At the Double, etc?

Emissary
22-04-2009, 18:53
Hello

The Balrog is a monster and a hero, so can be dueled. The balrog can also do all the heroic actions. That being said, I think you have the dueling stuff wrong. You roll a D6 and add your fight value and +1 if you initiated the duel. Because the balrog has a natural fight of 10, Aragorn really can't go +5 on him. Even if Aragorn wins, you still roll on the extremely hard to kill table and only then for every 2 auto-hits you take from the duel table. An unwounded balrog isn't going to die from a duel.

And yes, the good characters can dish out some hurt in duels.

Angelust
22-04-2009, 20:44
So on average, if Aragorn challenges, he can epic strike, use 4 might pts to bump his roll to +4, while the Balrog uses 3 might pts to bump it up +3.

Meaning for the first round, Aragorn would only ahve a +1 to the duel, +2 if he challenged.