PDA

View Full Version : Gondor Tactica!

Jorgen_CAB
27-04-2009, 10:36
Ok, this is my first attempt at trying to do a small evaluation of an army list together with some learning’s and finding I found along the way.

I have played about eight to ten games with my Gondor forces so far, I have tried most of the units, some I have proxied to get a feel for them and borrowed some models to try them out.

I have also done a lot of theorizing using the computer to get some additional experience how certain units behave and works in comparison with different enemy forces.

I have concentrated on smaller games on around 1000-1500p. So my advice will mostly be applied to forces at this size.

General notes on command
If you have the models but don’t pay for them, place them at the second line of your command companies. That way you can at least show them of when painted.

Banners
A banner bearer is ever only useful in a unit that gets additional bonuses for charging, such as Cavalry and some infantry units. It might also be worth it in very large units if you plan on playing aggressively or use that particular formation to flank attack the enemy.

Hornblowers
These command models can be useful in some infantry formation. They are not completely overly priced. I would not go overboard and place them in all my units. But if you have a large Archer unit with a captain a horn blower can give the unit some additional maneuverability.

Captains (Edited 28/4)
These models are perhaps the hardest ones to use properly. The reason for this is the way the Dueling system works. An epic striking enemy model or monster hero with high fighting skills can really turn your captain into a liability.