PDA

View Full Version : Empire on Warhammer Fantasy

Orwin
29-04-2009, 01:35
I'm new to fantasy and wonder if a big discrepancy on 40K also happens here: the Space Marines should be the rarest, most elite force around but are the most common sight on the tables. Their numbers also don't represent their combat efficiency, even because in 5th you can field more marines with the same points, which, fluffwise, should be the strong opposite.

Now, concerning the Empire, which seems to be GW's jewel on Fantasy: the number of miniatures you can field nowadays is in accordance to what the fluff dictates about it? Would it be fluff-right to see more Empire armies around than everything else, considering the Empire's length and population, or there should be more common armies, like orks or skaven?

Death Disco
29-04-2009, 01:54
Basic Empire troops are actually pretty bad-one on one they'll lose to most things save Goblins, Skeletons, etc. The Empire is the biggest nation of the Old World-they outnumber all the Elf nations (combined, probably), the Western human nations, the Dwarves and probably the Lizardmen. The "horde" lists-Skaven, Greenskins, Beastmen-in turn outnumber them. Seeing Empire armies all over the plus is not what I'd call unfluffy-they are plenty numerous and placed so that they have contact with most other races.

Emeraldw
29-04-2009, 02:03
Unlike in 40k I see a rather large variety of fantasy armies around. Though in my local gaming group we have a lot of Elves.

Sir Charles
29-04-2009, 02:25
I terms of armies the Empire doesn't seem to benefit from the same favoritism that some time seems to be directed at SM, in terms of the amount of background attention they receive....

Charistoph
29-04-2009, 06:16
Empire doesn't receive the same favoritism because they are closer to being IG, than SM, and we all know why IG is so popular...