PDA

View Full Version : WOC complicated question - Warshine.



Omegakai
29-04-2009, 13:28
Having mulled over the following scenario i can not find a clear answer that satisfies me.
The scenario is as follows.

Lord in unit of chaos Knights.
in shooting phase , knights targeted, 10 rolled Unit now causes fear.

so far so good its Simple and clear cut.

What happens if the hero leaves the unit, dose he still cause fear? The Army book dose not provide clear direction on the subject, additionally so what happens if the hero charges out of the unit at another fear causing unit.
Technically speaking the rules state that before any movement you need to take a fear check, since he as not left the unit yet he counts as causing fear.
same situation, but the unit has rolled snake eyes and now suffers from stupidity, if the hero leaves the unit is he no longer affected?

Lastly. could you choose to select a hero with-in a unit to benefit the effects of the war shine rather then the unit it self.

Marquis de Sade
29-04-2009, 13:53
To start with.... Chaos Knights cause Fear, so if you target the knights and roll a 10, you have to re-roll.

If a character leaves a unit, he loses all benefits/penalties for being 'part of' that unit- so in the case here, the Hero (in a Fear causing unit) causes fear.

second part, unit sufferes from stupidity- while he is in the unit he is bound by their results on the Stupidity check but IF they pass he can then leave the unit and is no longer subject to stupidity.
Of course, it's kinda a moot point, since if they pass or not- you are gonna shoot the War Shrine again and change the result on the table.

so a) they pass the Stupidity test- the hero leaves the unit 'cause he doesn't want to associate with idiots like those, then the Warshrine shoots the unit again- they gain 4+ WS and Stubborn and now he REALLY wants to be back in the unit but he's already left and can't get back unitl the next turn, he's a character on his own until then.... a legal taregt for all kinds of nasty spells and shooty bits
b) they don't pass the test- now the character counts as Stupid for the turn and CAN'T leave the unit until the NEXT turn anyway but, before then the War Shrine shoots again- giving them the 4+ WS and Stubborn, now, they ROCK, aren't Stupid but can't declare charges or move (since those phases have already passed) they can shoot, and act normally in H2H though....

The only time this would really effect things is if the War Shrine cause this affect (Stupidity) then blew up.....

As to your other question- I don't think that character in units can EVER be the target of spells or shooting, whether you want them to or not.

Lord Khabal
29-04-2009, 14:09
This has been faq'ed... characters joining units that are affected by the warshrine, when leave the unit cease to be affected.

jaxom
29-04-2009, 16:37
b) they don't pass the test- now the character counts as Stupid for the turn and CAN'T leave the unit until the NEXT turn anyway but, before then the War Shrine shoots again- giving them the 4+ WS and Stubborn, now, they ROCK, aren't Stupid but can't declare charges or move (since those phases have already passed) they can shoot, and act normally in H2H though....

Why on earth do you think that they would lose stupid? The Eye of the Gods table result explicitly says that you are stupid for the rest of the game. Rerolling the shrine result will not change that. Note that no other entry in the table bothers to mention that it applies for the rest of the game (RAW argument). Also note that being shown the infinite glory of Chaos to the extent that your mind is damaged is one of those experiences that you don't just shrug off (RAI argument).

Milgram
29-04-2009, 16:47
about the character causing fear for charge purposes... that has been discussed multiple times here I think.

Isabel
29-04-2009, 20:45
Why on earth do you think that they would lose stupid? The Eye of the Gods table result explicitly says that you are stupid for the rest of the game. Rerolling the shrine result will not change that. Note that no other entry in the table bothers to mention that it applies for the rest of the game (RAW argument). Also note that being shown the infinite glory of Chaos to the extent that your mind is damaged is one of those experiences that you don't just shrug off (RAI argument).



I think it's justifiable to assume they lose stupidty.

"If this option is chosen it will negate all that warshrines previously generated effects."

It's a game full of dragons and magic... anything can happen. Even shrugging off mental damage. Especially when the fickle chaos gods are involved.

jax40kplyr1
30-04-2009, 15:26
I thought that if the unit is affected by stupidity and fails the LD check, then it has to compulsory move forward. How could the character seperate from the unit if he has to move with it?

Milgram
30-04-2009, 21:14
he can't leave the unit, if they fail the stupidity test. no one said so, did one?

popisdead
05-05-2009, 18:15
The warshrine affects the unit, and if a character leaves a unit he looses what is affecting it.