PDA

View Full Version : Rulez Help needed (chariots and mounts in a challenge)



Foegnasher
30-04-2009, 20:52
help!

last night i played my lizard men vs a buddy's choas list and we need answers!

1) when a choas hero on foot challenges a skink priest on a ancient stegadon, who all gets to fight in the challenge? the preist, obviously, the stegedon, because it's his mount. but whan about the 4 crewmen? do they get to attack or be attacked?

2) chaos hero on a chariot charges a stegadon. who all fights? as above, but with the chaos warriors with halbards and choas steeds attacking, who gets to fight in the challenge?

HELP!

theunwantedbeing
30-04-2009, 21:06
Page 77 of the rulebook.

The character and his mount fight in the challenge, crew do not.

Foegnasher
30-04-2009, 21:23
Page 77 of the rulebook.

The character and his mount fight in the challenge, crew do not.


thought so.

so in example 2, the hero and the mounts fight, but the crew just stands around and looks mean, while the skink crew cheers on the chief?

The Red Scourge
30-04-2009, 22:09
Right. But don't forget about shouting insults, namecalling and all the other stuff :D

Ikhoornix
01-05-2009, 08:00
On a side note, what happens to the impact hits, when a chaos hero in a chariot charges a priest on a Steg and the priest challenges?

ROCKY
01-05-2009, 08:42
On a side note, what happens to the impact hits, when a chaos hero in a chariot charges a priest on a Steg and the priest challenges?

The d6+1 impact hits from the chaos chariot is calculated first before the challenge is made. then u challenge and he accepts or decline etc.

nosferatu1001
01-05-2009, 10:38
the impact hits are always randomised as well, as normal shooting.

EvC
01-05-2009, 13:30
Yep, but bear in mind the only time you randomise impact hits like this is against a Stegadon- against another army's mounted beast or character on chariot, they all go onto the mount.

jax40kplyr1
01-05-2009, 13:37
EvC - why wouldn't the impact hits randomize? Just say the chariot charges into a Old Blood on Carnosaur - should be 1-4 on the mount, 5-6 on the character?

Gazak Blacktoof
01-05-2009, 13:44
EvC - why wouldn't the impact hits randomize? Just say the chariot charges into a Old Blood on Carnosaur - should be 1-4 on the mount, 5-6 on the character?


See p.63 of the BRB, second column, 4th paragraph.

Taidron
01-05-2009, 18:30
Yep, but bear in mind the only time you randomise impact hits like this is against a Stegadon- against another army's mounted beast or character on chariot, they all go onto the mount.

Why would you randomize impact hits between the stegadon and the crew? Shouldn't they all hit the stegadon, since the stegadon is the mount?

EvC
01-05-2009, 18:55
Seriously, I'm not paid enough to sit at work on a Friday night and answer these questions.

nosferatu1001
01-05-2009, 18:55
Taidron - the specific army book rules states that all shooting is randomised in a specific way, therefore it is an exception to the general rule.