PDA

View Full Version : Don't Understand Some Things in the Tau Codex

Morglum5780
30-04-2009, 21:49
So, i am just getting into the tau, and dont have much experience playing 4th or 5th ed 40k. Looking through the codex I see a lot of items referring to rules that are outdated (or maybe i think are outdated, but missed in the 5th ed rule book). Like things that refer to 'target priority tests' or 'obscured vehicles'. Is there some thread somewhere that deals with these situations and how they work in the current edition (if at all)?

Thanks.

P.S. I tried searching for this, but for some reason the word 'tau' brings up zero results on Warseer O.o

P.P.S. Wasn't sure if this should be posted here or in rules forums.

chinnfrequent
30-04-2009, 21:54
Rules probably.

Outdated rules like target priority are ignored, obscured vehicle means it's in cover.

Vedar
30-04-2009, 22:21
While we are on it i think some Tau units have like (1+) next to them. I think the fire warriors or a HQ choice has this. Does anyone know what this means?

susu.exp
30-04-2009, 22:37
Target priority tests have been removed in 5th Edition. Just ignore the reference to it under the Target lock (i.e. you may simply fire at different targets). Under 4th Edition you had to pass a Ld test to fire at anything but the closest unit. The rules there state that you only do one test, even if both targets aren´t the closest enemy. Under 5th - no test.
The same applies to markerlights. If you don´t need to test, auto-passing the test stops being important...
Obscured vehicles is still in the 5th Edition - look under the rules for shooting at vehicles. A Disruption pod gives your vehicles a 5+ cover safe under the conditions named.