PDA

View Full Version : Artillery and movement?



krashreed
06-05-2009, 15:29
How is everyone else interpreting the artillery rule. My lgs has come to a consensus that pivoting is considered movement and as such artillery once placed cannot do anything other than shoot to the front arc in which they are initially placed.

Is anyone else playing artillery this way or are you allowing pivoting since there was no forward movement?

The problem we have deterimined with allowing pivoting and why we don't allow it is due to the battery option. If you field a battery of three and pivot on the middle of the center company the outside companies will get some forward movement by default.

General Veers
06-05-2009, 15:47
...Is anyone else playing artillery this way or are you allowing pivoting since there was no forward movement?...How is it possible to pivot with an artillery tray and not incur forward or backward movement? The corners will move, either forward or backwards, which is movement as defined on page 32.

Emissary
06-05-2009, 16:17
Yup, they can't pivot. Once they're on the table, their current LoS arc is all they get for the game.