PDA

View Full Version : The Most Reliable Common Formations?

moar barmu
12-05-2009, 22:05
Im still very new to this game, but it seems to me that some army lists have better choices for common formatiosn than others. Some, like Mordor have poor qualtiy core troops (for the msot part) but lots of choice and versatility. Dwarves's core troops are the opposite- not too much diversity but loads of quality. Elves have a mixture of both, but are pretty expensive in points. Yet, reliability is not aobut msot powerful units so much as those units that are worth their points game in and game out. Which are the three most relaible core formations in the game in your opinion and which of the nine factiosn has the msot reliable troops on average. Below I provide my tentative answers ( I'm still leranign the game):
1. Dwarf Warriors (with shields)- Defense 8 on basic troops seems awesome to me. Strength 4, Fight 4, courage 5 (with Captain) and with access to shieldbearer, they seem abotu as reliable as a common unit could be.
2. High Elf Cohorts (with shields)- seems similar to me as the dwarves; a little less durable but pretty relaible and having Terror too.
3. Urukhai Warriors (with shields)- Not quite as relaible as the other two, but really quite solid.

Faction with most reliable common troops: Dwarves- even their Archers can take damage and keep on coming. Thats pretty reliable. They also have two-handed weapon users with good defense, complementing the other two main configuartions well. Even their light troops, Dwarf Rangers, are good.

Lord Asuryan
12-05-2009, 22:19
easterling cohort with pikes and shields. hands down.

Nu Fenix
12-05-2009, 23:39
I concur with Lord Asuryan, though I am biased towards the Fallen Realms.
We are the only army which has figured out how to fight with a Pike whilst carrying a shield.
We are the only the only army ro re-roll 1's when shooting, and one of two armies that can do it in combat. [Haradrim and varieties of them]