PDA

View Full Version : Bloodthirster changing weapons?



Nuada
14-05-2009, 18:29
This discussion was started on the general warhammer section, it didn't seem fair that it was taking over the thread. So i moved it here, can you shed any light on this?


We all know that if you have a magic weapon, you must use it. Daemonic gifts are never magic weapons.

If a Bloodthirster is armed with the firestorm blade (+1 str and flaming attacks) and he charges a high elf with dragon armour (immune to fire) is the high elf immune to all the attacks?

Or can the Bloodthirster change to his hand weapon? (all models carry a hand weapon)


In the DoC FAQ (at the bottom of page 3) there is a question asking about a BT having Axe of Khorne and the firestorm, am i able to turn one of those abilities off. The GW answer is "He must use all of the effects of the two gifts. He cannot chose not to use one of them"


Also ....It doesn't actually say that the firestorm blade, or the axe of khorne are weapons. The way it's written in the DoC book implies they are upgrades. (firestorm blade gives the BT flaming attacks and +1 str) The two that are clearly stated as hand weapons are the staff of change, and the torment blade.
If this is the case, then the BT has to use the firestorm blade because he only has a hand weapon. There is no other weapon to change it to.

stripsteak
14-05-2009, 18:33
daemonic gifts combine with the mundane weapons weilded by the daemon. this is explained inthe daemon FAQ. the bloodthirster has no other weapon to swap to just his daemoniced gifted hand weapon.

to put it another way the daemonic gift is the property bestowed by the bloodthirster. it doesn't matter what type of weapon he picks up it will gain the benefits fo his daemonic gift.

Nuada
14-05-2009, 18:36
So the only hand weapons in the Daemonic gifts are the staff of change and the blade of torment?

The axe of khorne isn't an axe? it's just a killing blow upgrade?

Chaos Undecided
14-05-2009, 18:38
I think you're still stuck with using the gift no matter what, that they dont count as magic items/weapons only means they cant be destroyed by spells or other magic items

stripsteak
14-05-2009, 18:39
pretty much thats how it functions yeah, and they combine as well so if your blood thirster takes the axe of Khorne and thee Balesword. he would have only a single weapon that does S7 Flaming killing blow attacks.

the only things that don't combine are the same type of bonus, so if you had +2S and +1S from different sources you would only benefit from the higher (+2) and not +3

PeG
14-05-2009, 20:32
and of course noone except for brettonia may change weapons while in combat