PDA

View Full Version : First try at WotR Gondor: 2000 pts

Banimal
14-05-2009, 21:56
Hi all,

So I've been playing SBG for a while now, and I've had relatively good success with my forces of Gondor, so I wanted to expand them into a WotR army. This is my first try at a WotR list, so if any more experienced Gondor players could tell me what works/doesn't work it'd be great

Faramir

Prince Imrahil

Eomer

1x6 Companies Minas Tirith Warriors: Captain

1x4 Companies Minas Tirith Warriors: Captain

1x3 Companies Minas Tirith Archers

1x3 Companies Foot Knights of Dol Amroth: Banner Bearer, Knight Champion

1x4 Companies Knights of Dol Amroth(Imrahil)

1x2 Companies Avenger Bolt Throwers

1x3 Companies Rangers of Ithilien

1x4 Companies Osgiliath Veterans(Faramir)

1x6 Companies Riders of Rohan Éored(Eomer)

Fortune: Orcbane Weapons(Veterans)

14-05-2009, 22:40
Generally very solid.

Osgiliath Veteran formation is WAY too small. I'd suggest making it your anvil with Faramir in it. Get it to at least 4 companies, if not 6.

To do that, you might drop one company from the Ithilien Rangers, and one from the Archers, which would be merged into one, 3-company formation.

If you're only proxying the Foot Knights of DA (don't know if you really have that many of the models) you might consider dropping those to make other units stronger. e.g. Make the Eored Erkenbrand's. Immune to Terror could prove more useful than Eomer's extra point of Might. Also get those other WoMT units up a company or two each and leave the Ithilien Rangers at 4 companies.

Bottom line, if you make only one change - either dump the Osgiliath Veterans to pump up the other infantry (depending on your models available) OR drop the Foot Knights to make the Veterans a serious formation.

Nu Fenix or Jorgen should be along to weigh in soon, I expect.

Nu Fenix
15-05-2009, 00:30
Ask and ye shall receive Avatar ;) Granted, Jorgen is much better with Gondor than I am, but when has that ever stopped me.