PDA

View Full Version : New WoC Player looking for advice

KhorneWarrior13
15-05-2009, 15:39
I am pretty new to this hobby with only a few games under my belt and I was wondering what marks work well for the Warriors of Chaos. I like the fluff about Khorne and Tzeentch but do either of these marks actually do well in the game?

semersonp
15-05-2009, 15:48
all the marks have their merit...

tzeentch helps protect knights with the blasted banner...

khorne makes ogres buzzsaws...

nurgle lets warriors keep their expensive butts alive in combat...

slaneesh allows horsemen to keep those precious flanks protected without running off the table...

all have their uses... try a few games with each one... mix n' match... or do what i do and hold onto the old and have a mono god army...

lord mekri
15-05-2009, 18:12
i am going to vote for the option not on the list - no marks.
warriors of chaos work great without any marks. and your army will be larger.
if you need to mark, save it for mages, or perhaps an exalted hero on the approrpiate steed.

zak
15-05-2009, 18:18
The Mark of Nurgle is fantastic on Warriors and Knights. Add in the rage banner on either unit and you have one hell of a nasty unit. It's also very good for sorcerers and the ever useful buboes!

Makaber
15-05-2009, 20:05
Different Marks do different things, and many of them are quite practical. However, I'd like ot second Lord Mekri in that overall, I feel the best Mark is no Mark. The individual Mark might not seem like a huge points investment, but they rack up the cost of your units quickly, and you that will reflect in an army that is small enough beforehand. So by all means Mark units if you have a plan with it, but don't feel you absolutely have to mark them, and don't hand them out willy-nilly.

Goruax
16-05-2009, 02:37
warriors of chaos work great without any marks. and your army will be larger.

Hmmm....

My 2k/2250 lists save about 100-150 points if I leave the Marks.
That buys me 6-9 Warriors.