PDA

View Full Version : creating a 2000 point IG army.

Guerillaboy
17-05-2009, 18:39
Ive been interested in IG since I started playing last december, however I went with Chaos instead because I was told IG was weak and not fun to play, But I decided I like the way they look and the fluff for them so I want to start one anyway. (Also that way I can use a counts as renegade militia if need be), But I dont know where to even start on building them as I honestly know nothing about them. I know I should buy the codex, but I wont have the money for about a week. So where should I start on building a good competitive 2000-2500 point army. MAinly I play always against space marines, with the occasional tau or eldar. So I need something that can compete against those mostly. Im not worried money-wise ( as long as the uber expensive FW stuff isnt thrown in there.). I really appreciate any help.

sigur
17-05-2009, 18:43
...But I decided I like the way they look and the fluff for them so I want to start one anyway. ...

Doesn't have much to do with the fact that they are considered "zomfgoverpowered" at the moment. ;)

Anyhoo, get the codex, don't do anything before that. When you get the codex, get two boxes of infantry and a command squad box (I assume you'll want to play plastic cadians). Read the codex, choose what you like, assemble your first few models, paint them. THEN (this means after painting and assembling), get some heavy weapons and more infantry. Assemble, paint. THEN (after having painted your minis), get something fun and try to get your army playable (1 HQ, 2 Troops choices plus something fancy like a Leman Russ). Play games with this list, add proxies, etc.

Build it up slowly, get (and paint) lots of infantry first, have fun. Do NOT get 2000 or even 1000 points at once.

sharkaithegreat
17-05-2009, 19:03