PDA

View Full Version : Newbie starting an empire army 500pts

pip
19-05-2009, 19:20
Hello there, i would like to request some asistance in composing an empire army. It will be build around the Averland region of the empire with black and yellow uniforms and I would like it to be build mostly around missile troops, prefferably lots of handguns and canons.

Now, i would like to let you all know that i am very new to warhammer fantasy, i have barely read the rulebook and just picked up the armylist today, as such i dont really know what is good or bad in the game, what works and what is just for show. So i would like to have your aid in constructing such an army, and hopefully it will be an army that has a fighting chance aswell.

This is what i have writen down so far, bear in mind that nothing here is final, and everything is open for discussion. 500pts is jsut the start, have to begin somewhere right? ;)

Hero

Captain
fullplate
shield
(60)

Core

Handgunners *10
(80)

Handgunners *10
(80)

swordsman *12
(72)

Special

Outriders *5
(105)

Great cannon
(100)

Lands me currently at 497pts

Any help and pointers would be very welcome, thank you all in advance.

Crube
19-05-2009, 19:35
Firstly, can you please edit your post to remove individual points values.

Master engineer
Light armor
Repeater handgun
(82)

is fine...

Secondly, I'd personally exchange the Outriders for Pistoliers if you're set on some cavalry, but that it a personal preference, and source of heated debate.

Actually, I'd be looking at getting some sort of normal state troops in there, maybe at the expense of the 'riders, especially in this size of game. 133 point would get you 20 swordsmen...

Crube
The Warseer Inquisition

pip
19-05-2009, 19:53