PDA

View Full Version : Skaven vs Vamps

Griffery
25-05-2009, 21:14
I have just recently purchased a Skaven book and some guys and I am planning on playing my friend who will be using Vampire Counts. It will be 3500 points. I have never used or fought Skaven before so I do not know how certain units will perform. Any advice?

Malorian
25-05-2009, 21:17
That a pretty quick learning curve you're going to need... first game is with 3500 and against vamps? ouch...

Well take lots of magic and lots of shooting. Your magical shooting will rip apart etheral units and expensive ones like knights and grave guard.

Assassins will be good for killing characters.

Those skimishing units that pop up out of no where (sorry, don't know the name) will be good for taking out bunkers.

Summary: Magic and shoot him to death while stalling him with slaves and killing his vampires with assassins.

ICLRK625
25-05-2009, 21:26
The Warp Lightning Cannon is going to be the game winner here, as he has no way to hide his Vampire Lord (except inside a unit of course). Since he can't keep his vampire lord alone (unless he wants it to be a smoldering pile of warp ash), he'll likely hide it inside a large unit and hang out in back. Skaven Shooting and magic are extremely destructive, so I'd go with Malorian and suggest shooting into whatever unit he's hiding his lord in, and keep him tied up with Slaves (your static should match his, so you may be able to hold so long as you take units big enough to withstand fear).

Griffery
25-05-2009, 22:04
Yeah I was reading about the assassins and I was wondering if there is any way to give them killing blow like the DE assassins?

Erie Ed
26-05-2009, 00:08