PDA

View Full Version : New Army Dilemma...

Imperius
26-05-2009, 00:23
Ok so I started playing as the Imperial Guard at the beggining of January but for the summer I am leaving Canada to go around Europe and stay for a month or so with my grand parents and the Canadian dollar is a heck of a lot more valuable in their country and I can buy a lot of GW stuff.

The thing is, I don't want to alienate them with some wacky new Tyranid army, a Daemon army which would probably be considered anti-christ, and I dont want to keep going with Imperial Guard, which is probably the one
thing they could relate to.

What should I do? Is there an army that still can be considered normal, or do I have to make a shift into Fantasy and buy a bunch of human-looking models?
______
I could try to explain that Space Marines are actually people inside suits of armour, sort of like knights but I want them interested in the game, and not worried that I mgiht become a depraved glue-sniffer.

Lord Raneus
26-05-2009, 00:26
Guard's really the only human army. Space Marines can be visibly human without helmets, Chaos Marines are a little too gribbly.

What about Tau/Eldar? Tau are pretty much your standard sci-fi army, they can't object to that.

Drakon
26-05-2009, 01:32
Inquistion - you already have the allies but you could do a full gk band.

MasterDecoy
26-05-2009, 01:37
eldar would be my vote too, human looking enough to not be scary, with enough background to be intresting to people who dont know/care about warhammer

Gen.Steiner
26-05-2009, 01:56
More different Imperial Guard? :angel: I say go for Sisters of Battle/Inquisition - you could even use Necromunda Arbites models in your force...!

Imperius
26-05-2009, 03:26
Hmm, isn't the Inquisition kind of 'sucky' though? and I wouldn't be using Witch Hunters, to pole dancey, knowing my relatives they will send me to a priest for committing the sin of lust.

Warsurge
26-05-2009, 04:11