PDA

View Full Version : casket of souls



vodrake
27-05-2009, 16:07
Got a question about it and combat. Can anybody find any rules as to where it says people in combat cant see others units they arent in combat with? for example a large target or, as in this case, a casket on a hill?

Also which FAQ do you use for magic resistance? the old TK one which states you can use MR against the casket, or the new general one which states you need to target a unit?

Urgat
27-05-2009, 16:16
Easy: enemy units block lines of sight. Your units see only from the front (erxcepted warmachines, etc). When you're engaged, your line of sight is therefore blocked by the unit just in front of you.
Unless, of course, your unit is wider, or you clipped, or something. Still, you won't see anything that's behind the enemy unit.
Large targets see above the non large target units, though, so if you got, say, a giant in melee with a unit of skeletons and there's the casket behind, the giant will see the casket. now, if ithe casket is on a hill, being in melee won't prevent regular units from seeing it.
It's a LoS matter, it's not really to do with the combat rules themselves.

Clegane
27-05-2009, 16:26
Also which FAQ do you use for magic resistance? the old TK one which states you can use MR against the casket, or the new general one which states you need to target a unit?


The 'new one' is actually an official errata and not an FAQ. Therefore, it carries the same 'weight' as the BRB rules. The GW design team discusses the difference between FAQs and Errata documents on their webpage in fairly extensive detail.

You may still find people who try and tell you that the much older and now-inaccurate TK FAQ still takes precedence because it is 'army specific'. You're certainly entitled to play that way if you wish. But the intent is pretty clear.

The very basic, core nature of Magic Resistance has changed since the TK FAQ was written. At the time of its writing, the question was valid because MR still worked for 'mass effect' spells. It was included in the FAQ as a reference so that everyone knew that the Casket didn't get 'special treatment' and interacted with MR in the same manner as all other area effects.

Now that MR itself has changed, so has the way the Casket interacts with it. Like all other area effects, afflicted units do not benefit from the MR.