PDA

View Full Version : WotR Elves.

Sedge
01-06-2009, 08:15
Hi All,
I have been using elves now for a couple of games as we are just starting out we are staying to 1000pts. I have played against Isenguard, fallen kingdoms and Gondor all with roaring sucess so far. I prefer going for some of the bigger characters as I just love there special rules and spellcasting abilities. I have currently settled on this as my prefered list...

Celeborn and Galadrial. A great combo I feel. Galadrial is great for boosting up the might store whilst Celeborn can make a hard line of infantry all the harder.

3 Infantry Glaive and shield + Hero. Why wouldn't you add a shield?
3 Archers
2 Archers
3 Knights + hero. I've never used cavalry before so they should be intresting to try.

Tonight i am playing against Mordor for the first time. He will be using....
Gothmog
Morannon Orc Warband : 6 x company with shields . Captain . Banner Bearer . Taskmaster.
Morannon Orc Warband : 6 x company with shields . Captain . Banner Bearer . Taskmaster . Shaman .
Warg Rider Warband : 3 x warg rider company with shields . Captain .
Warg Rider Warband : 2 x warg rider company .
Mordor Troll

Any tips on what to do? I was thinking that I have to kill Gothmog asap. Perhaps use Galadrial to add might to the knight captain, then a quick charge with the cavalry then heroic duel him? I could soften up the units courage with a few spell to reduce courage and hope that he fails his terror. What do you think?

Jorgen_CAB
01-06-2009, 08:36
In my opinion you have too many points spent on your heroes. You will probably have a really hard time against that army.

Though, you opponent should use all five Wargs in one formation and replace the Shaman with Kardush. That will make it even scarier.
Those Morannon Orcs with with strength four will be nasty against defense 4(6) elves. The shamans can also use the 'Shatter Shield' spell making it even nastier.