PDA

View Full Version : Ug..Another noob ?



TheLizardFish
30-12-2005, 08:12
O.K.. You don't apply the rules of fear when charging a fleeing unit right? Also, if you charge a fleeing unit and make contact that unit is terminated? Thanks for the help :)

Festus
30-12-2005, 08:29
Hi

A.You don't apply the rules of fear when charging a fleeing unit right?
B. Also, if you charge a fleeing unit and make contact that unit is terminated? Thanks for the help :)
A. Wrong (the unit still causes fear - or terror - even if it flees.)
B. Right (assumed that the fleeing unit had a *flee!* charge reaction.)

Greetings
Festus

Hideous Loon
30-12-2005, 08:45
It could also be that the unit is fleeing, its combatants not quite pursuing far enough, and another unit (say, cavalry) are standing conveniently nearby.

Tarax
30-12-2005, 08:45
A. This is especially true for Giants, as they are more likely to fall over when fleeing, so better stay clear.

B. Fleeing units, when charged, will make another flee move. You still have to outdistance them to catch them. ie roll equal to or higher than the distance between you and the fleeing unit AFTER they fled.

Griefbringer
30-12-2005, 12:34
You still have to outdistance them to catch them. ie roll equal to or higher than the distance between you and the fleeing unit AFTER they fled.

Actually, you only roll for the movement distance when pursuing routing enemy - if charging an already fleeing enemy, the charging unit will move the normal charge distance.

Major Defense
30-12-2005, 13:27
Actually, you only roll for the movement distance when pursuing routing enemy - if charging an already fleeing enemy, the charging unit will move the normal charge distance.

Very true and often missed or breezed over. Unless you're dealing with charging skirmishers, the distance between units when the charge is declared means absolutely nothing. Even then you'd only use it for lazy purposes but the important thing to remember is that when a unit flees from a charge they are moved immediately and that means before charging units are moved. They also flee around friends and enemies when possible so the flee move may not total the distance indicated on the dice if they have to spend some of their movement going sideways.

TheLizardFish
30-12-2005, 18:05
Thanks guys for your clarification :)

Tarax
31-12-2005, 09:48
Actually, you only roll for the movement distance when pursuing routing enemy
Yes, you're right. I guess I was thinking about pursuit. My bad.

Although...if your charge move could catch them, then you move the whole distance.


- if charging an already fleeing enemy, the charging unit will move the normal charge distance.

There is no normal charge distance. You either make your normal move (under M) in case of a failed charge, or double it when charging, if you catch them.

Festus
31-12-2005, 10:09
Hi

There is no normal charge distance. You either make your normal move (under M) in case of a failed charge, or double it when charging, if you catch them.
Yes there is: The normal charge distance is double the basic movement value in inches (apart from flyers - always 20" /10" with bats, and some special random thingies like Spawn or PumpWagons - rolled number in inches).

Greetings
Festus