PDA

View Full Version : Silly Question around Magic Armour



untimention
21-06-2009, 15:08
OK a silly question around magic armour....

I have my Chaos Lord who obviously wears Chaos armour and i want to give him armour of morrslied.... can be wear both sets of armour or will i have to give up my 4+ save to allow my 4+ ward save?

Troah
21-06-2009, 15:17
Does the Armor of Morrslied state at the very beginning of its description that it's Heavy Armor or Light Armor?

Ultimate Life Form
21-06-2009, 15:18
I don't know the rules of Chaos Armor, but normally, a magic armor replaces any mundane armor the character may have. Again, make sure to check if there is something prohibiting this since as far as I know Chaos Armor cannot be taken off (or so background claims). I highly doubt though he can wear two sets of armor.

untimention
21-06-2009, 15:25
Armour of Morrslieb - This artefact was not forged but hewn from rock; rock that was once part of the chaos moon Morrslieb. Chaos Armour. Confers a 4+ ward save against no-magical attacks....

That is straight out the army book.

If if i take this armour do i get a 4+ armour save (as it's chaos armour) and a 4+ ward save?


CONFUSED.com

Ultimate Life Form
21-06-2009, 15:34
Hmm...
Alright. The "Chaos Armor" part means that the Morrslieb Armor, among other things, confers the very same boni as an ordinary Chaos Armor would, so yes, you get a 4+ AS (if that's what a regular CA does) in addition to the Ward Save as well as any other things a Chaos Armor may do (as far as I remember, it used to allow Wizards to cast despite having armor, but this is obsolete under the new rules).

I'm still not 100% sure if he can take it though, but I'd say it's okay. Check what the "Chaos Armor" entry says, it should be somewhere in the book.

Troah
21-06-2009, 15:50
"A character that is not allowed to wear ordinary armor cannot be given magic armor/hemls (Unless differently specified in the army book)."
-Pg 121

untimention
21-06-2009, 15:59
ok so the lord can only wear this magical armour... but does it mean he gets a 4+ normal save and a 4+ ward save as it says its Chaos armour that confers a 4+ ward as well.....?

half CONFUSED.com

Bac5665
21-06-2009, 16:09
YES!!!!!

The rules say: "Chaos Armor. Confers..." The first part is as much a rule as the "Confers..." part.

untimention
21-06-2009, 16:22
Perfect....

Lets see what happens... my lord on juggernaught has a 0+ armour save (-1 save in combat), a 4+ ward save and regeneration.... hopefully he will last more then turn 2

Griefbringer
21-06-2009, 16:34
Lets see what happens... my lord on juggernaught has a 0+ armour save (-1 save in combat), a 4+ ward save and regeneration.... hopefully he will last more then turn 2

How have you kitted him out then?

Please notice that the hand weapon + shield combo only works when on foot, not when mounted on the jugger. Or do you have something else that gives yuo a bonus to save while in combat?

untimention
21-06-2009, 16:56
sorry just the 0+ save then... not that im complaining

Isabel
21-06-2009, 20:57
All of the magic armour in the WoC (except shields) is chaos armour as well. There is nothing in the book that will cause you to lose it.

Kalec
22-06-2009, 06:08
There is nothing in the book that will cause you to lose it.

Except for ascending to daemonhood.

Isabel
22-06-2009, 07:13
Hah I forgot, the pinnacle of a chaos lord's career, transforming into a flying vagina.

Hulkster
22-06-2009, 08:15
don't forget that sorcerers of all types can have magic armour as well as they all come with chaos armour in the first place

nosferatu1001
22-06-2009, 09:17
they can also have magical shields as well, as their rules state they can "use" magic shields.

tarrasque
22-06-2009, 10:55
but not at the same time whit a magic armour