PDA

View Full Version : Stand and shoot vs fear causing charge



Edit
26-06-2009, 20:11
ok, was wondering about this as it came up recently.

a unit of 20 ranged weapon carrying infantry are charges by say, us9 ogres or whatever

they declare the charge, you declare your intended reaction, take the fear test, if you fail you outnumber and hit on 6's in the first round of combat, do you also only hit on 6's for your stand and shoot? we have always played it as yes, but were not actually sure.

stripsteak
26-06-2009, 20:32
Shooting is not done during the first turn of close combat, so is not subject to hitting on 6s

Gazak Blacktoof
26-06-2009, 20:52
As stripsteak said, you don't get suffer the 6's to hit penalty for ranged attacks, its only for the first round of close combat attacks.

pililuk
26-06-2009, 20:59
Another stand and shoot Question. If it is a failed charge do you still get to shoot?

Gazak Blacktoof
26-06-2009, 21:04
Yes you do. I can't find if this is clarified anywhere, but there are no rules telling you that you can't. Hopefully somebody can provide futher clarification (I'm in a rush at the moment).

Belerophon709
26-06-2009, 22:10
Page 20 of the rulebook, under the "Move Chargers"-heading:

"Remember to resolve any stand & shoot reaction that has been declared against the chargers at this stage, before measuring if the chargers have made it into contact with the intended target!"


Bele

EvC
27-06-2009, 00:32
Bonus answer! Remember that if a unit fails its fear test to charge, then no charge has ever been declared, so do not proceed to make a charge reaction for the intended charge victim.

Necromancy Black
27-06-2009, 00:48
Bonus answer! Remember that if a unit fails its fear test to charge, then no charge has ever been declared, so do not proceed to make a charge reaction for the intended charge victim.


Had to double check that but your 100% right. The Fear test is taken so you can declare the charge, if failed there is no charge declared and therefore no charge reaction.