PDA

View Full Version : Detachment & Countercharges



Clobbersaurus
30-06-2009, 04:27
First, I am a total noob.

I use Empire, and have a question about the detachment thing.

If I move my parent unit and its detachment of gunners, and am charged by the enemy in the same turn, can my gunners open fire during the enemy charge, or does "move-or-shoot" come into effect?

danny-d-b
30-06-2009, 05:00
you can't move and be charged at in the same turn

if you move and in the opponunts turn (completly diffrent turn) your charged then yes you can shoot

Clobbersaurus
30-06-2009, 05:12
But if I am first, and I move, oh I don't know, 6 inches, and inadvertently put myself in charging range of the enemy, what stops them from charging me?

danny-d-b
30-06-2009, 05:14
yep but they charge in there turn

the game runs like so

player a moves
player a does magic
player a shoots
combat

NEW TURN

Player b moves (including chargeing)
player b does magic
player b shoots
combat including player a standing and shooting

WLBjork
30-06-2009, 05:18
There's a difference between game turns and player turns.

A game turn consists of every player having a player turn.

A unit that moves suffers any appropriate penalty to it's shooting for the rest of that player turn.

When a new player turn begins, the penalties are removed.

Milgram
30-06-2009, 11:53
you can't move and be charged at in the same turn

yes, you can. but overrun and pursuit in new enemy do not allow for stand&shoot reaction. :)

Clobbersaurus
30-06-2009, 13:29
Ah, I thought move or shoot applied to the game turn. Thanks guys.