PDA

View Full Version : taking panic tests in close combat

hohenheim
01-07-2009, 03:31
Please forgive me if this is an obvious question, I'm a newbie:

Does a unit have to take a panic test when "3) A friendly unit within 6" breaks from combat" if the unit is already in close combat? Does it matter if the unit is in the same close combat and/or it already passed its break test?

For the other panic test reasons (friendly unit within 6" destroyed, fleeing friends move through), are those taken while in close combat as well?

Thanks!

Necromancy Black
01-07-2009, 04:00
Unit in combat ignore all psychology cause by units outside of combat (so terror from a nearby monster would be ignored, but not if they were in combat with such a creature)

During the entire close combat phase no unit will ever panic from taking 25% casualties, no matter what causes them.

Avian
01-07-2009, 06:10
Slightly incorrect, units in close combat don't take psychology test (rulebook p. 48), it has nothing to do with whether or not the source is outside the combat or not.

Adran
01-07-2009, 07:32
Unit in combat ignore all psychology cause by units outside of combat (so terror from a nearby monster would be ignored, but not if they were in combat with such a creature)

During the entire close combat phase no unit will ever panic from taking 25% casualties, no matter what causes them.

I don't think this is quite true. A fleeing chariot can cause wounds in the close combat phase that do cause panic tests.
But that is the only thing I can think of that would.
[/nit pick]

Necromancy Black
01-07-2009, 09:19
The first warhammer FAQ says that a panic test for 25% casualties is never taken during the close combat phase.

Also, I never said they take psychology tests, I said affected. In close comabt you can still be outnumbered by fear causers and such.

Avian
01-07-2009, 10:06
Again, you are not exactly correct.