PDA

View Full Version : A 3rd ed retrospective

redben
01-07-2009, 12:32
I've a blog which so far I've used mainly to write about my historical wargaming along with a bit of Blood Bowl so I've kept myself to those parts of the Warseer forum. I've just started a retrospective of the WFB 3rd ed rulebook on it so I figured I'd give that a mention here in case anyone was interested. I'm sure there's a fair few people here far more familiar with it than I am so feel free to comment and criticise.

It can be found here - http://imperatorcarnifex.wordpress.com/

Gazak Blacktoof
01-07-2009, 12:59
I started playing during 4th edition WHFB/ 2nd edition 40K so that was an interesting read for me. Even though they were no longer used at the time, the boxes the models were sold in still had the four leadership characteristics you described printed on them.

I do wonder how much of an effect the presentation style of books has on the minds of gamers starting out in the hobby.

Nuada
01-07-2009, 13:13
It's an interesting read redben, thanks for that :)

Personally i think overall the basic system has improved since 3rd. There's a few rules i wish they had kept, they'll probably crop up again in 8th. The problem with 7th edition is the army books.

From what i remember psychology really affected your army in 3rd, they've toned it down now. Your whole army used to a panic test when your general died, a unit tested for panic when a friendly unit failed it's break test within 12" (now it's 6"), and others i can't remember. I like the 7th edition version.

For magic you had wizards with 15 spells each, I remember i always used to roll that damn "part water" spell with no water features on the table. The second movement phase, called the reserve phase was a pain