PDA

View Full Version : Do flying cav negate rank bonus for a flank charge?



Shadowfax
02-07-2009, 20:49
Do characters on foot negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

Do characters on monstrous mounts negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

Do monsters negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

Hrogoff the Destructor
02-07-2009, 20:55
Do flying cav negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

No, flying cavalry count as skirmishers and as unit strength 2 (or 3). They do not ignore rank bonuses.


Do characters on foot negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

No. Unless that character happens to be unit strength 5 on foot (like a greater daemon).


Do characters on monstrous mounts negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

Only if their combined unit strength is 5.


Do monsters negate rank bonus for a flank charge?

If they are unit strength 5 or greater, yes.

Shadowfax
02-07-2009, 20:57
Cheers for the quick reply

Mercules
02-07-2009, 21:03
Do units(even if single models) greater than US5 break ranks? If they are not Skirmishers, yes.

Do units(even if single models) less than US5 break ranks? No.

Other than Skirmishers the type doesn't matter, what does is the Unit Strength.

Talash
02-07-2009, 23:33
A flying cavalry unit with a unit strength of five or greater will indeed get both the combat res. bonus for a flank (or rear) charge, and will negate their opponents ranks. They may move as skirmishers, but as far as im aware thats it.

Nurgling Chieftain
02-07-2009, 23:38
They may move as skirmishers, but as far as im aware thats it.No, like all units of flyers, they're actually skirmishers.

Shadowfax
03-07-2009, 03:56
No, like all units of flyers, they're actually skirmishers.
Really? So the -1 to hit still applies to units like Warhawks, Pegasus Knights, etc.?

Drachen_Jager
03-07-2009, 04:32
A flying cavalry unit with a unit strength of five or greater will indeed get both the combat res. bonus for a flank (or rear) charge, and will negate their opponents ranks. They may move as skirmishers, but as far as im aware thats it.

If it has a unit strength of 5 it is, by definition, not cavalry.

WLBjork
03-07-2009, 05:03
Really? So the -1 to hit still applies to units like Warhawks, Pegasus Knights, etc.?

Cavalry (even Flying Cavalry) are US2. Penalty only applies to US1 models.

Tae
03-07-2009, 18:28
If it has a unit strength of 5 it is, by definition, not cavalry.

He meant US5+ as in total US for the unit, not for an individual model.

Drachen_Jager
03-07-2009, 21:26
No, like all units of flyers, they're actually skirmishers.

Actually they are not skirmishers, the book says they "operate as skirmishers".

Not that it makes a difference that I know of, but the language makes it clear that they are not skirmishers, they just obey the rules of skirmishers.

Talash
03-07-2009, 21:52
No, like all units of flyers, they're actually skirmishers.

Actually, no. Flying cavalry are treated as a unit of flyers (Which operate like skirmishers) but have a US of 2, get a +1 bonus to their armor save for being mounted, and when moving on foot they do not ignore difficult terrain penalties.

However this does make me question my original statement. If they operate like skirmishers, would that mean they dont negate a units ranks for a flank/rear charge? Or is that literally only for units with the "Skirmishers" special rule?

EvC
03-07-2009, 22:10
They are basically skirmishers, as are all units of flyers, so don't negate ranks, but still get the bonus for a flank/ rear attack.

Drachen_Jager
03-07-2009, 22:24
If they operate like skirmishers, would that mean they dont negate a units ranks for a flank/rear charge? Or is that literally only for units with the "Skirmishers" special rule?

"operate like skirmishers" means they obey the skirmisher rules, except as noted.

It's pretty clear, and not just GW, "clear", but clear by any standard.

Chicago Slim
05-07-2009, 14:27
Right, so to sum up:

Lone characters on, whether on foot or mounted, will negate rank bonuses in units that they charge, if and only if the model is US 5 or more. The character will earn a +1 combat resolution bonus if and only if the model is US 5 or more.

Flying cavalry operate as skirmishers, and therefore will never negate rank bonuses in targets they flank. Flying cavalry may earn +1 combat resolution for flanking, if the unit of flyers is US 5 or more.

VC Billy
07-07-2009, 20:12
Does everyone agree on this?