PDA

View Full Version : DE: Power of Darkness + Miscast



stonetroll
05-07-2009, 05:14
This might have come up before, but I couldn't find it.

My questions regard a combination of a Dark Elf Sorceress having generated power dice from Power of Darkness and after that miscasting without having used the Power of Darkness dice.

1. What happens if a Dark Elf Socreress succesfully casts Power of Darkness (lets say she generates 4 dice), miscasts without having used her Power of Darkness dice and then rolls a 7 on the miscast table? The result says that "The caster suffers one Strength 2 hit, loses all his remaining power dice, and cannot do anything else in this magic phase".
Now, the wizard LOOSES all her power dice, but are they therefore counted as being "used"? This is important because the last sentence of the Power of Darkness spell says: "For each of these dice still unused at the end of the magic phase, the Sorceress suffers a Strength 4 hit."
Now, since in the miscast result #7 does not say all remaining dice are "used", does the Sorceress suffer a S4 hit for every unused Power of Darkness dice, even though she "looses" all her power dice?

2. What happens if there are multiple (lets say 2) Sorceresses on the caster's side, and the DE player starts his magic phase by casting Power of Darkness (succesfully) with both of them (lets say they both generated 4 dice).
Now Sorceress #1 miscasts using all of her Power of Darkness Dice and then proceeds to roll a 8-9. This means "The caster suffers one Strength 4 hit (no armour saves allowed). In addition, all spells currently in play are dispelled and the magic phase ends. All power and dispell dice stored in magic items are also lost."
Since Sorceress #1 miscast using her own Power of Darkness dice, she is offcourse safe from the additional hits that would be caused by Power of Darkness, but what happens to Sorceress #2? She has not yet had a chance to use her Power of Darkness dice, and nowhere does it say that those dice are "lost" in any way (the magic phase merely ends), so I assume she gets the Power of Darkness hits?

Seems like you can really screw yourself using that spell :P. Offcourse, Daemons have it way easier with their upgraded version of the same spell (game balance ftw).

Necromancy Black
05-07-2009, 07:26
Go read the Dark Elf FAQ. It will answer this for you.

chivalrous
05-07-2009, 10:27
Go read the Dark Elf FAQ. It will answer this for you.

Here's the link to the Dark Elf FAQ (http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2250130_DarkElves_FAQ_Jan09), just in case you weren't sure where to find it.

In answer to your questions though, the sorceresses in both situations take the hits for their Power of Darkness dice.

sulla
05-07-2009, 20:56
...and the DE player in question 2 is foolish for knowing the risks but still casting power of darkness on the 2nd sorceress before using up the power of the 1st sorceress. :evilgrin:

stonetroll
05-07-2009, 22:31
cheers guys! that explains it :)