PDA

View Full Version : Escalation of Cheese

AlmightyNocturnus
07-07-2009, 06:17
I`ve played in the same two wargaming groups with mostly the same players for the past 8 years. Over the years, we`ve had som great Warhammer Fantasy (and 40K) battles. There was little to complain about beyond a person using more than two cannons in a list. It continued that way for many years...and then things began to change...
I can`t remember when it started exactly, but I remember when I contributed to the "Escalation of Change" in our gaming group. I`ve played Ogres since they came out and have enjoyed the challenge they presented. But, I noticed tht I just couldn`t hang with V.C. when their new book came out. A complete noob joined our group and could more than handle my OK army with the VC. Our Tomb Kings player gave up, shelved his beautifully painted army (probably the most beautiful army in this hemisphere) and bought/painted a High Elf Army. Another player retired his Beast of Chaos Army and switched to Daemons. I eventually played a game against a Teclis+Star Dragon HE army where I literally could do nothing with my measley OK. Sadly, I`m just putting the finishing touches on my own Daemon army (all 4 flavors) - 4000 points plus worth of `em.
What can I say? I didn`t want to do it, but there was no other way to compete with two VC armies, a HE army, DE armies and a Daemon army. What`s the problem with Fantasy these days? I think other wargaming groups have experienced a similar "Escalation of Cheese". What`s or Who`s to blame? Is it just the first person go WAAC that forces everybody else (peer pressure)? Is it just GW`s marketing strategy to get veteran players to buy whole new armies? Or is the problem just temporary in that soon every army will adjust the level of cheese in it`s Armies Books to compete with the other upper tier armies?

Almighty Nocturnus

Isabel
07-07-2009, 06:31