PDA

View Full Version : Returning after hiatus: Slaaneshi marines questions

Grimtoast
08-07-2009, 20:43
Been out of the 40k loop for a few years, here.

I finally may have a chance to have a little free time here and there now, but things have changed quite a bit in the latest edition of the chaos codex.

Quick background/theme for my army:

Started playing slaaneshi marines around 1999 because I'm a musician and the old Noise Marine models were evil rock'n'roll demon looking guys with instrument / weapons. Right up my alley.

So over the years I'd been assembling a pretty potent mid-range shooty army supported by some mobile CC support - everything in the army is Slaanesh based. No mixing undivided or other gods, not even any demons. Strictly a loyal slaaneshi marine army.

Now, I see in the newest codex that my ability to take sonic weaponry in several places has been greatly reduced or removed.

No sonic weapons on dreadnaughts, predators, etc. A max of one blastmaster per squad (i used to run heavies with mark of slaanesh with i think 3 or 4 BM's as one squad) - and most of the troops were sonic blaster equipped.

Now I see I can't take my dreads/preds with sonic weaponry, and the lack of ability to take more than 1 BM in a squad sort of neuters the heavy support squad theme I had been going for.

Does anyone know of any plans to re-institute dread/pred sonic weaponry, more BM's, other fun bits to make the army decidedly more Slaanesh dedicated?

Right now I'm still half on the fence, and heavily considering just sticking to blood bowl for the foreseeable future due to the watering down of the chaos marines (watered down in terms of keeping my prior slaanesh theme, not watered down in effectiveness - i've no idea how effective or ineffective they are these days).

Thoughts? Comments? Suggested reading?

Wraithseer
08-07-2009, 20:59