PDA

View Full Version : tourney time table

rtunian
10-07-2009, 19:17
here's a riddle:

i've been playing wfb roughly weekly for about four months now, and it still takes 4+ hours to get through a 2k game. how long will it be before i can participate in a tourney? :p

the longest part of the game is deployment... it always takes over an hour for us to get our minis situated on the trays and out on the table (and i don't even know how long it takes to clean up). in the standard tourney, the 2.5 hours or so time limit counts from start to finish, deployment to clean up, right??

i have almost all of the stats for my units memorized, my battle plans are relatively simple (meaning i don't spend alot of time figuring out where to move), and i don't generally take much magic. of course there are still occasional rule questions that warrant a little research, but those never go away, right?

what can i do to speed this process up?

i've been thinking about magnetizing my o&g army, but most of my minis are on 20mm horizontally slotted bases, so it doesn't look like magnets will fit down there. can the rare earth magnets be cut to fit, or will that ruin them?

ChaosCajun
11-07-2009, 03:40
Before the tourney, most will bring a tray or display board and place their army on it already in movement trays. I have always magnetized my figures using sheets of magnet cut down to size and glued to the slotta base bottoms. Put some metal flashing in the movement tray and the figures stick to it. If you use a display board or tray, you can quickly place the units from tray to table and back if they are on movement trays.

I would suggest you go to tournaments with the above preparations and enjoy! You have an o&g army, so folks will know it takes you a bit longer to deploy than others because they are a horde army with lots of deployments usually.

Brother J
11-07-2009, 08:26