PDA

View Full Version : skaven tips?

Jimbobjeff
04-01-2006, 16:35
ok im just starting skaven and I could do with a hand. I used to play hordes of chaos(marauder heavy) and looking through the army list my main problem is that there dont seem to be any close combat units with any punch! any ideas? stormvermin are ok but still very average..... I'd also like to know how you guys equip your clanrats, Are spears any good? most games I play are around the 1000pts mark (store limit) basically if you have any tips at all the please share them because I really need it.........

p.s. main opponents are wood elves, tomb kings and lizards.

Zoink
04-01-2006, 16:55
Well I'm not really an expert, but I've tried out most of the units at some point.

Keep your clannies cheap - they'll die in droves and still hopefully win you the game! They're a bargain without the spears I reckon.

Although the spears do look kinda funky, so I might have one unit with them at some point. Maybe.

You'll win melee with CR bonuses rather than kills, so concentrate on outnumbering, outmanouvering, and outflanking your opponents.

Having said that my pestilents troops have been running riot recently - get some plague monks and censer bearers. Both are great units. Censer bearers can take out heavy cavalry if they get the charge!

Takaratie
04-01-2006, 17:11
First of all... skaven have no realy juicy punchy chaos knighty unit (mabey use some plague monks or Rat ogres for extra hitting power).
Storm vermin are nice but they are not great, and dont match most tough elite bodyguard units.
As for spears, I played skaven a while ago and I think the shield sword combo works best ( and is just darn cheap ), the little bit extra armour in cc is very nice.

For 1000 point battles I would go for the fighting Hero ( the one with the highest leadership, forgot his name).