PDA

View Full Version : Terrain deployment; 'by the book' or other?

Harwammer
13-07-2009, 22:18
I consider terrain important to be a very important part of the game; you use the rules in the front of the BRB to craft a battlefield that will suit your army. My opponent disagrees, prefering random or third party placement.

What style of terrain placement do the members of warseer prefer using for a game of warhammer?

Witchblade
13-07-2009, 22:54
We normally pick a 'standard' set of 5-7 medium-sized terrain pieces for 2000-2250 point battles, e.g. 2 hills, 2 forests, 2 impassable terrain. We then deploy by the book.

Most of my opponents and I consider terrain a very important part of tactica.

AlmightyNocturnus
13-07-2009, 22:59
A 3rd person always does it in our gaming group. I sometimes like to ask a complete noob to do it - they usually come up with creative terrain schemes (i.e. not a hill in each deployment zone)

Almighty Nocturnus

HunterSkunter
13-07-2009, 22:59
Since we have a pretty basic gaming surface, we noramlly deploy a few elements in the center of the board, then do the standard deployment by the book.

Condottiere
13-07-2009, 23:10
There are lots of ways, though probably pre-determined layouts are the most enjoyable, since both parties can study the map beforehand and determine the most appropriate deployment.

Avian
14-07-2009, 05:47
In my experience, terrain setup where one or both players are involved very rarely lead to a good setup. I use a random method nearly all the time (tournaments are 3rd person, naturally).

The last time I played with a method like the one in the rulebook, we ended up with a non-battle - the Wood Elf player was sitting in his clump of woods which I was not stupid enough to enter. That was the dullest, most pointless game I have had in two years.

The Red Scourge
14-07-2009, 06:20