PDA

View Full Version : New to 40k

kaubin
14-07-2009, 21:02
Hello, i'm new to 40k. I've been playing fantasy and enjoying it a whole lot, so much that i'm considering seriously getting into 40k. I'm coming here for suggestions on your part, mostly for army suggestions. I've read part of the rulebook and have a few armies i'd like to try out.

As a WHFB player I play Dark Elves, and definately don't want an army with the same playing style, i'd like to have a different experience. For those who don't know, Elvish armies tend to favour shooting and elite troops.That's why i'm steering clear of the Eldar races, they remind me too much of elvish armies

I also want enjoyable games, and for that is where I really need your help. In Fantasy, some armies, like the Daemons of Chaos are completely overpowering all the other armies and make for boring games that no one enjoys. Gunlines also tend to destroy some fun with a lot of people. I'd be looking for an army that would maximize the fun I would have playing 40k.

On a last note, I don't know why, but I really don't like tanks. I also am not a fan the Space Marines and of the Imperial armies.

I narrowed down which armies interest me to there few:

Necrons - I love the models, they look exactly like the Terminators, and seem like a lot of fun to play. Are they fun to play against though?

Tau - I really like the fact that they have airships that look like flying forts. Very nice looking army. I heard that they were nothing but shooting though, and while I like the models and the fluff, something about the playing style feels annoying for both sides...

Daemons of Chaos - W00t, an army that can double as a second fantasy army. I really like the models and story behind the Daemons, but was turned off by them in Fantasy because so many people complain about them.