PDA

View Full Version : What Is The Best Army For A Samurai Theme?

Proiteus
21-07-2009, 23:05
Iím a 40k player and Iíve wanted to get into fantasy for several years now, Iíve had 2 attempts to get into the game both of which have had problems. The first was when Ogre Kingdoms came out and being a beginner I never won a single game so I gave up. The next was when Dwarfs were re-released but by then I had become interested in heavily converting armies and they did have much to offer in that regard.

But now Iím ready to get into the game and I have the perfect theme for my army: a Samurai based converted army. The question now is which army to use for the theme.

At first I thought of using Dark Elves due to the assassins but the cold ones put me off as I wanted to keep it as close as I could to the chosen theme and samurai donít ride lizards. There are only two armies that can successfully support the theme.

High Elves: Theyíre a small elite force and better yet they strike first a very samurai like trait. Conversion wise it would be easy to add the armour using green stuff to the archers and spearmen models, but only use the archer heads. I could also model a high elf dragon to look like a Japanese dragon.

Warriors Of Chaos: It was the fact that high elves have spears not swords and that these guys could carry one or two, plus I think the conversions would look quite good with the cloaks and it would be easier to model the armour. The marauders could also be easily converted to fit the theme.

Now Iíve only played fantasy one or two times so Iíd like to know what fantasy vets think is the best army for the theme, also take into account this will be my first fantasy army?

mrtn
22-07-2009, 00:00
I don't see any one of those fitting very well. :(

Samurai aren't elves. They're human, with human movement and initiative.

They aren't mutated monsters either. S4 T4 Samurai? Gimme a break.