PDA

View Full Version : Frenzy



Adran
29-07-2009, 08:51
Following on from the tomb king thread chariots,

If a magic item item grants frenzy to a unit, then what causes them to lose the frenzy?

a, Losing a combat
b, the magic item going away?
c, a and b happening
d, a or b happening?

I've always played it as 1, things like the Banner of Rage confers frenzy, so if the banner bearer is killed, the unit still has frenzy until they lose combat.
(I know the banner is a special case where losing combat doesn't take away the frenzy).
But then a Khorne lord on a dragon would frenzy the dragon even after the khorne lord was killed.
Similarly things like deathfrenzy from the Skaven book will grant frenzy until a occurs.

How do other people play it and why?

Condottiere
29-07-2009, 09:24
Option D, unless it's specified in the description that you don't ever lose frenzy, in which case, you need to remove/destroy that magic item. If it were part of the unit description that they never lose frenzy, then there's nothing that can remove it.

Except Wite-Out.

Kalandros
29-07-2009, 09:59
If the magic item disappears, the source of the rule is gone, thus the rule is lost.

nosferatu1001
29-07-2009, 10:10
+1 agree to the above.

If you lose the source of your frenzy, you are no longer frenzied unless the wording states otherwise. Similar to a mount losing frenzy if the rider is killed (say Khorne WOC character) the mount would not be frenzied.

Drachen_Jager
29-07-2009, 17:15
Why would it be any different from other magic item generated powers? Except of course that you can ALSO lose it by losing combat.