PDA

View Full Version : Kitting a HE Mage for a 1000-pt friendly game...

weeshuggy
06-08-2009, 18:22
WHFB noob here, just starting out (both painting WH minis and playing), and my initial list is slowly coming about... at a decision point for my mage, which will affect how I build the 2nd hero...

The general direction I want to go is shooty with magic phase shutdown... I will primarily be playing against O&G and Wood Elf armies while I get more fluent with the rules.

So... Should I go:

A: 2nd Lvl Mage with Ring of Fury, on Unbarded Steed

or

B: 2nd Lvl Mage with Silver Wand and 2 Dispel Scrolls, on Unbarded Steed

Here's the rest of the list, for context:

15 Spearmen w/FC
10 Archers
5 Reavers w/bow & Musician (Mage goes here)
10 Swordmasters w/Champion & Banner of Sorcery
1 RBT

Still tweaking the actual points, but the basic gist is to have the Reaver unit and Mage use marchblock and hit+run tactics (with flank charges if opporunity arises), hopefully the RBT and Archers softening up enough that by the time units get to my line, the SM and Spears will be enough to handle it...

If I go with the Mage A, I'll probably go with a lvl1 mage as Scroll Caddy, attached to RBT unit... if I go with Mage B, I'll probably go with a Noble in the Swordmaster unit...

For a low point game, am I de-emphasising my infantry too much, and maybe over-focusing on Magic for O&G and WE opponents? Will my line break as soon as their first unit gets to me?

Peachtacular
07-08-2009, 01:01
You really don't need a scroll caddy in 1000 pts. A single mage gives you 3DD with +1 to dispel. The most you're going to face is 2 lvl2s, equivalent to 6-7 PD. That's not too bad, especially considering what HE's can do in 1000 pts.