PDA

View Full Version : 2 Questions, stand and shoot, and fear.



crushinbeats
09-08-2009, 17:35
2 Quick questions.



1. If you charge a ranked unit in the rear that has missle weapons. Can they stand and shoot, even if can't even see the people charging them?

Example: Skaven tunnel crew pops out 10 inches behind a unit of dwarven thunderers. Skaven unit charges, does the unit of thunderers get to stand and shoot? If so.. why .. if not why not? Rule book pages would be nice too.


2. If a fear causing unit wins combat vs another fear causing unit, does the other fear causing unit auto break, unless insain currage is rolled? Or are both units immune to the effects of fear?

Second part of that, does a terror causing unit trump a fear causing unit, causing the fear causing unit to auto flee if it loses combat? or is the fear causing unit also immune to the effects of Terror?



Just two questions I know you guys can answer easily without making remarks like "why don't you just read the rule book/errata?"

Thanx

The Blades of reason
09-08-2009, 18:05
question 1 no they can't see them when the charge is made

fear causers are immune to effects of fear

the terror one i blive will auto break if outmunber (US) but terror cuasers are usually one model (US 6+ usullay) but fear cuasers cAN BE QUITE LARGER

nosferatu1001
09-08-2009, 18:24
Terror vs Fear == Fear vs normal.

In other words a terror causer causes Fear in a Fear causing unit.

crushinbeats
09-08-2009, 18:32
You could add a stegadon to a unit as a character mount, giving a huge unit of skinks terror.

Making units of ogres/trolls autofail if they lose combat.

Interesting.

Kalandros
09-08-2009, 18:58
No.
Stegadon is US10, as long as the Ogres/trolls remain above US10, they do not autobreak.
You count the Terror-causing models / Fear-causing models only for the autobreak part, not the entire unit. As its not the unit that causes terror - the charge or charged unit only take a terror test/fear test if the causer comes into contact.

Flank the unit where the stegadon in the center, then there is no terror whatsoever.

Jetty Smurf
10-08-2009, 04:35
As far as I am aware, any model in a unit with terror/fear basically grants the entire unit terror/fear. The only condition of this, is being outnumbered by a fear causer. That is the only time the unit strength of the actual model causing terror/fear comes into play.

This, as a side effect, grants the entire unit terror/fear immunity.

WLBjork
10-08-2009, 04:50
They've not written Fear as well in this edition.

If a character that causes Fear joins a unit that doesn't, the unit becomes Immune to Fear.

In addition, the unit causes Fear but only at the US of the character.

Terror is basically Fear with an extra chance to force the enemy to run away.

Toads77
10-08-2009, 05:17
If you have a hero that joins a unit and he is fear/terror causing the only way a unit wanting to charge that unit with character will take a fear/terror test is if they must come in contact with that character. So if they charge in the flank/rear and he's not on the side, then you can charge that unit without any fear/terror tests. Pg 78 in the fear/terror section of characters..

simple enough.

Deglosh
10-08-2009, 14:26
"As far as I am aware, any model in a unit with terror/fear basically grants the entire unit terror/fear."

This is totally wrong and fail. A character/unit with fear/terror does not grant an entire unit terror/fear. However, if a character joins a unit that causes fear/terror, he does aswell for the duration that he is in the unit.

Terror caus fear on fear-causing models

Lord Zarkov
10-08-2009, 17:39
[QUOTE=Deglosh;3846608This is totally wrong and fail. A character/unit with fear/terror does not grant an entire unit terror/fear. However, if a character joins a unit that causes fear/terror, he does aswell for the duration that he is in the unit.
[/QUOTE]

The last bit of this is not quite right, e.g. his US is not counted towards terror/fear outnumbering penalties