PDA

View Full Version : Casting Magnificent Buboes



BlackVomit
10-08-2009, 18:06
1) If a character is in a unit engaged in close combat, but the character is in a position so that it is not in base contact with the enemy, can an enemy Wizard cast Magnificent Buboes at the character?

2) If the enemy Wizard in is a unit in close combat, can he still cast the spell?

Tnx

Isabel
10-08-2009, 18:13
A nurgle sorcerer can cast it out of a combat if it has LoS

A nurgle sorcerer can not cast it at a model that is involved in a combat, even if it is not himself in base contact, as the spell does not say "can even be cast into a combat"

:)

BlackVomit
10-08-2009, 20:56
Tnx 4 the quick reply

Necromancy Black
10-08-2009, 22:39
AS for your second question, yes, you can cast spells if you or your unit is engaged in close combat.


The rules say you can cast spells. There is nothing extra added for close combat so the rules stand that you can cast spells. Same as if mount, frenzied, etc. None of these have extra rules regarding casting spells so they use the default rules (meaning yes, you can cast spells)

Keep in mind that if in close combat you usually have your LOS blocked by the unit right in front of you, so unless you are a large target or can see a large target or unit on a hill, then the only unit in LOS is the one engaged in combat.
This means you can't cast spells that both a) need LOS and b) can't be cast into close combat.

Hope that makes sense.

Signius
11-08-2009, 00:04
Keep in mind that if a spell is classified as a magic missile you are not allowed to cast it while in close combat, unless the spell specifically contradicts this (so even if you could see a large target, etc. your are not allowed to cast it). This is in the description for magic missiles in the BRB.

BlackVomit
11-08-2009, 09:11
Thanks a lot for all the feedback. Was not sure about casting whilst in close combat.

To recap:

A wizard can always cast spells in close combat, unless:
1) The spell is a magic missile
2) Wizard does not have LOS to target
3) Wizard is suffering from Stupidity (he can still cast if he joins a unit which goes Stupid)
4) Shaman is in a unit which squabbles.

EvC
11-08-2009, 09:31
Although note that it is impossible to be suffering from stupidity while in combat, as its effects end as soon as you get into combat :)

Atrahasis
11-08-2009, 09:45
Thanks a lot for all the feedback. Was not sure about casting whilst in close combat.

To recap:

A wizard can always cast spells in close combat, unless:
1) The spell is a magic missile
2) Wizard does not have LOS to target and the spell requires it
3) Wizard is suffering from Stupidity (he can still cast if he joins a unit which goes Stupid)
4) Shaman is in a unit which squabbles.

Added to point 2 to make it more accurate.

Harwammer
11-08-2009, 10:13
How does a squabble unit get into close combat? squabble + hand/waaagh spell? Personally I don't see why a squabble unit should be moved by these spells, but as always some people disagree with me :P

nosferatu1001
11-08-2009, 12:16
They are moved by these spells as it is not the unit doing something voluntarily....