PDA

View Full Version : Null Stone



Anton
10-08-2009, 18:16
Can a Archmage carrying the Null Stone still cast spells?

Isabel
10-08-2009, 18:22
I'm reading it from army builder which isnt always correct. But according to it, all wizards (friends or foe) have their magical abilities nullified while within 6" of the bearer. I would personally take this as no, he cannot cast spells. But I dont know if there is any official clarifications, just an opinion.

Good Luck

Condottiere
10-08-2009, 19:46
He is a wizard and he is within 6" range of it's effects, so the Archmage can't cast until it's removed.

Anton
10-08-2009, 20:32
The description says that spellcasters within 6" of the bearer may not cast spells. Word by word, this does not include the bearer of the Null Stone.

However, I agree that it should probably be interpreted as you say.

xragg
10-08-2009, 20:39
The description says that spellcasters within 6" of the bearer may not cast spells. Word by word, this does not include the bearer of the Null Stone.

However, I agree that it should probably be interpreted as you say.

Sorta repeating what condottiere said, but how do you figure the bearer is not within 6" of himself? The description would have to be something like, "other spellcasters within 6" ..." or similar to not include the bearer.

Anton
10-08-2009, 20:46
By your reasoning, you are assuming that the stone creates an aura of antimagic 12" in diameter, based on the bearer. If it was so, then the bearer would obviously be affected by the Null Stone as well.

However, the item description says no such thing. It merely says "No Wizard within 6" of the bearer..."

Condottiere
10-08-2009, 20:53
Being the bearer doesn't make him immune if he also happens to be a wizard.

theunwantedbeing
10-08-2009, 20:56
You cannot not be within 6" of yourself.

or

You are always within 6" of yourself.

xragg
10-08-2009, 21:05
Huh? Are you trying to pull some word trick or somethig? How are you not constantly within 6" of yourself? (short of some odd belief of leaving your body stuff) If a guy on house arrest is allowed to be anywhere within 500' of his house, he isnt allowed in his house (since the house cant be within 500' of itself)?

Condottiere
10-08-2009, 21:11
From where do you measure the 6"? From the edge of the base or the centre of the miniature?

T10
10-08-2009, 23:41
A comparable situation is the army battle standard (p. 83).

If you are the the kind of player that does not allow your army battle standard bearer re-roll his own break tests, then you are the kind of player that can take the Null Stone on his Archmage and still cast spells...

I am sure most see reason in this matter.

-T10

Sarah S
11-08-2009, 05:18
That's perfect.

Or the Howler Wind making the radius around the Wizard not able to be shot at, but the Wizard himself being a perfect target.

Anton
11-08-2009, 20:56
A comparable situation is the army battle standard (p. 83).

If you are the the kind of player that does not allow your army battle standard bearer re-roll his own break tests, then you are the kind of player that can take the Null Stone on his Archmage and still cast spells...

I am sure most see reason in this matter.

-T10

Good point.

Anyway, I wasn't trying to pull a cheesy rules interpretation, I was just bringing it up for discussion. :)

Ganymede
11-08-2009, 23:30
You cannot not be within 6" of yourself.

Debatable.

You know what isn't debatable? The fact that you can't be further than six inches away from yourself, that's indisputable.

Condottiere
12-08-2009, 05:23
But you can be within a 6" radius of it's effects.

VC Billy
12-08-2009, 15:33
That's what she said.

Nice one. :)