PDA

View Full Version : Forge World Priming



252nd Fire Dragoon
11-08-2009, 07:39
Aloha,
Is there a certain way to prime forge world models? Like do I have to do anything before hand?

Gorthaur
11-08-2009, 07:45
Aloha,
Is there a certain way to prime forge world models? Like do I have to do anything before hand?

not really...I just primer them in black and get on painting, but when im done I make sure to spray them with several coats of matte varnish, paint on resin models chips real easy.

Hashshashin
11-08-2009, 07:51
One thing to do if you haven't is to wash the model very well. Some FW models have alot of release agent from the casting process, so be sure to give it a good warsh.

Azhrarn
11-08-2009, 07:59
One thing to do if you haven't is to wash the model very well. Some FW models have alot of release agent from the casting process, so be sure to give it a good warsh.

That basically, just be very careful around the fine details, FW resin is rather fragile, and it would be quite a shame if some of it snapped off while cleaning the model.

Primer will generally hold on a cleaned model, if there's release agent present you'll know instantly as the paint will bead up and refuse to hold.

Petay1985
11-08-2009, 09:35
this link is your friend: http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/resinmodels1.htm

they have several pages on tools, preparation, etc (the links to other pages are hidden at the bottom of the page).

grissom2006
11-08-2009, 11:36
That basically, just be very careful around the fine details, FW resin is rather fragile, and it would be quite a shame if some of it snapped off while cleaning the model.

Primer will generally hold on a cleaned model, if there's release agent present you'll know instantly as the paint will bead up and refuse to hold.

Yes it snaps easy but resin on the whole when it does this tends to do it cleanly so easily glues back seamlessly in most cases and you take your time doing it.

I will add if you don't have the FW Master Class book to get it plenty of tips on things to use on FW kits pricey compaired to haw to paint tanks but if your serious about modelling it's priceless.

t-tauri
11-08-2009, 11:38
Please try a search and scroll down the forums to the Modelling Painting and terrain (http://www.warseer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20) area where this is dealt with in detail (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=71931). Please don't just post in the first nforum area you come to.

Thread closed.