PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Dark Elf Army

artyboy
11-08-2009, 12:25
I picked up a bunch of Warhammer stuff the other day and a big portion of it were dark elves. I've got no experience with them, though, so I'm not sure if I've got enough to work with without buying a lot more stuff. Here's what I have. What will it take to make it competitive? What's not worth using?

Witch King on Dragon
Lord on Black Dragon
Sorceress on Dark Pegasus
Sorceress on Manticore
Cauldron of Blood
Cold One Chariots x2
26 Warriors
13 Black Guard w/ Command
10 Witch Elves
20 Executioners
5 Cold One Knights
6 Harpies
War Hydra
Repeater Bolt Thrower

EndlessBug
11-08-2009, 14:02
Well you'll only be able to use both those dragons in 3k+ points. Also you'll need more witch elves if you want the unit to be competitive. An assassin for the executioners could be handy too.

Get another bolt thrower too, to complete the set. Also some dark riders/shades wouldn't go amiss (dark riders to fill out the core).

What you need (you only have 1 core atm, you need 2 for <2k, 3 for 2k and 4 for 3k etc):
3 units of dark riders (buy a box of warriors and glade riders for a nice cheap conversion)

What you'll want:
shades
2 Assassins (1 in execs 1 in shades with cloak)
Bolt Thrower
A hero/dreadlord on foot

Then you should have a nice variety of troops allowing you to field up to a 4k list.

The SkaerKrow
11-08-2009, 14:08
You don't have enough Core to play much of an army. I'd suggest picking up a Battalion Box (or two) to flesh out the numbers of Warriors/Corsairs available to you, and looking into some Dark Riders (which can be converted from Warrior bits and Glade Rider kits, if push comes to shove). Bolt Throwers work best in pairs, so that's another item that may be worth picking up.

willowdark
11-08-2009, 14:23
I didn't know there were two official DE dragon models. Are they from different editions?