PDA

View Full Version : Ratling shooting at building



Arkhan
12-08-2009, 11:25
Hi all, I've got a question how do you work out hits from ratling that is shooting at unit in building. Ratling automaticly hits it's target with the number that you rolled etc. and the new building rules says that against cannons, stone throwers and other attacks that do not roll to hit or use any templates [...] the unit will take D6 hits. So my question is that rule work the same with ratling gun, or the buildings are useless against those damn devices?

theunwantedbeing
12-08-2009, 11:36
D6 hits for the unit in the building as there is no roll to hit.

Kayosiv
12-08-2009, 12:02
But for a Ratling gun, there never is a hit roll, and you might not even roll 6 hits with the thing to begin with.

nosferatu1001
12-08-2009, 12:36
Kayosiv - yes, there never is a "to hit" roll, therefore it is always D6 hits.

essentially never fire more than 1 D6 worth at a unit in a building.

T10
12-08-2009, 13:06
Fortunately, Buildings and Magic have been given special attention on p. 99.

Milgram
12-08-2009, 13:06
like a 'eadbutt? or grap one from the giant? :D

Arkhan
12-08-2009, 13:15
Thanks you all for help.

T10
12-08-2009, 16:23
Giants can't assault buildings as he is a "monster" and not "infantry". He could throw a guy into a unit that is inside a building, though.

The Treeman's strangle-root shooting attack, on the other hand, would apparently affect 1d6 models instead of the result of the artillery dice.

-T10

Kayosiv
12-08-2009, 21:46
What's to stop the giant from simply smashing the building?

I think we need some new rules for buildings if they are "indestructible."

Harwammer
12-08-2009, 21:59
does the 1d6 hits rule override normal rules or is it in supplement to them?

e.g. Would an organ gun score 1d6 wounds, but first would have to roll the artillery dice to discern the max number of hits the d6 can deliver? Or do you just roll the d6 and that is the number of hits?

Are there any weapons that could benefit from this rule (e.g. might normally only be able to land d3 hits or whatever?)

theunwantedbeing
12-08-2009, 22:24
You roll to see how many shots are fired.
Then if shots are fired, you ignore the number rolled and instead roll a D6.
The score on the D6 is how many hits are scored on the unit in the building.

Lone character's in buildings are incredibly vulnerable to cannon shots.
Why?
Out in the open, they suffer 1 hit.
In a building, they suffer D6 hits. (plus the building is a damned sight easier to hit than a lone model out in the open)

Basically that would represent the cannon levelling the building and a lot of it falling in on the character.

Milgram
13-08-2009, 06:27
as there are no more siege rules, the giant cannot attack 'the building' and as t10 correctly pointed out, he cannot attack anything inside the building - unless he accidentally falls on it and is threated as a template weapon. :)