PDA

View Full Version : short question: fleeing DE with ring



Milgram
18-08-2009, 11:21
do passive effects of magic items work when the bearer is fleeing? the question raised when the ringbearer fled from combat. (orcbane shield would be another example)

nosferatu1001
18-08-2009, 11:54
You cannot voluntarily activate items - however the ring isnt a voluntary action, so I'd say it still works.

theunwantedbeing
18-08-2009, 12:02
Page 120 of the Rulebook,
bottom paragraph on the right hand side.

Necromancy Black
18-08-2009, 12:34
Oooh, double checking, the Shield of the Mirrored Pool isn't activated by choice, it's triggered by being hit by a magic missile. There are quite a few items that still work while fleeing it seems.

Arnizipal
18-08-2009, 19:35
Page 120 of the Rulebook,
bottom paragraph on the right hand side.If you're going to give a smug page reference please try to give a relevant one. The Ring of Hotek is not an item that you can actively turn on and off.

Atrahasis
18-08-2009, 19:43
Did you read the paragraph? All of it?

Arnizipal
18-08-2009, 19:50
Did you read the paragraph? All of it?
Sometimes I think you just follow me around to prove me wrong. :cries:

*puts foot in mouth*

stripsteak
18-08-2009, 20:11
it's not you i think he does that for everyone :)

Atrahasis
18-08-2009, 20:34
My club t-shirt has the slogan "The Last Paragraph" because I have a reputation for responding to cries of,

"This new unit/item/rule rocks! It does this, this, and this, and it's AWESOME"

with:

"Have you read the last paragraph?"

Which is usually followed by a heartfelt sigh and the sound of someone going back to the drawing board.

Gokamok
18-08-2009, 22:41
The BRB, p.119 specifically states that "Only magic items whose effects are permanent still work for fleeing models."

Any further questions?;)

Milgram
19-08-2009, 08:00
BRB p 119 reads to me 'lore of death' :D

but I got ghe point, thanks. ;)

Gokamok
19-08-2009, 15:24
BRB p 119 reads to me 'lore of death' :D

but I got ghe point, thanks. ;)

gah, page 120 then:D

EvC
19-08-2009, 15:31
So does that mean Ring of Hotek works when fleeing, or doesn't because it isn't permanently causing miscasts? :D

PeG
19-08-2009, 20:23
I would say it works since it is always activated. If you are trying to have any other definition of the word permanent you will get into trouble sooner or later. I mean what is really permanent in warhammer.

WLBjork
20-08-2009, 07:08
Badly written rules.

xragg
20-08-2009, 13:04
Whats badly written about it? I suppose more clearly defining exactly what they mean by permanent would avoid any possible confusion, but the description they have is pretty specific enough to cover most magic items/effects I can think of. Any magic item/effect that is one use only, bound effect, or requires the player to activate, all will not work. Everything else works fine and would be considered "permanent". Note that items like Carstein's ring would still work (if a vampire could hypothectically be fleeing), since it is not activated by the player.

The only thing that would make me think is an item that has a permanent effect and an activated effect, falling into both categories. I would personally rule the permanent aspect of the item would still work, while the other aspect wouldnt, but I can see how one could argue none of it would work by RAW.

Atrahasis
20-08-2009, 13:34
You misunderstand xragg, WLBjork was making a funny by saying that the only permanent thing in Warhammer is badly written rules.

xragg
20-08-2009, 13:35
I see that now that I read it closer. Guess I just need to go to sleep. :)

WLBjork
21-08-2009, 07:17
I should have quoted to make it clearer though :p