PDA

View Full Version : Vampire Count Army 1500pts-2000pts

drummerholt1234
21-08-2009, 05:21
Ok so I am a total noob at Warhammer (Not 40k Thou I'm damn good at that ;) )

I was hoping to get some help building a competitive VC army for tourneys and such...

Thanks in advance to you vets out there!

thechosenone
21-08-2009, 19:55
well, not knowing exactly what your play style is i can say what is "cool" and what is "winsauce"

Cool is stuff like the varghulf, black coach and blood knights.

Winsauce is a lord with extra power level, dark acolyte and master of the black arts (Or what ever its called. The bonus 2 power dice) Give yourself the skull staff and 35 points of something else fun. Consider getting a cheap flying mount like the a winged nightmare of abyssal terror. Use this for raising units and restoring units. Spam raise dead, spam invocation. Have a purpose in mind with vampire heroes when you build them. Character killers, secondary raisers ect ect. Wight King is ok, necromancer is only best for small points games in my opinion.

Ghouls are your best core choice followed by Skeletons. Zombies, in my opinion are what your raising with spell casting why waste points by actually paying for them.

So that's just some thoughts so far from a VC player that's about four months into playing

peterjameslewis711
22-08-2009, 00:23
HI guys, ill side with holt, without knowing ur playing style we are pretty stuck, but i play a magic and combat heavy vc army, which people always say "never works" but iv not lost a game with my vamps yet and iv been playing since the last book.
Blood knights are invaluable, but then again so are grave guard with a corpse cart (which tend to do a better job at a much cheaper price tag both and points).
The black coach is the worst creation gw have ever come up with, well rules wise at least. A chaos warshrine is less points and a million times better.