View Full Version : Shields + Great Weapons or Flails

21-08-2009, 15:34
So here's an awful question that strangely goes unanswered in many discussions I've had along with the book.

When one takes a sheild and a two-handed weapon, the sheild is still on your body....does this imply you receive +1 to an armor save but NOT the one for hand weapon and sheild?

21-08-2009, 15:37
Shields and weapons requiring two hands

In close combat, you don't get the benefit of the +1 AS bonus from having a shield; against missile attacks, you do.

21-08-2009, 15:38
The shield only helps for shooting. If you wield the 2 handed weapon in CC, you cannot use the shield in any way in that combat

21-08-2009, 15:38
Against ranged attacks, yes. Against close combat attacks, no.

21-08-2009, 15:39
If armed with Hand Weapon, Great Weapon, and Shield:
May claim the benefit of having a shield +1 Armor Save.

If in combat:
May choose which weapon to use at the beginning of a combat.

You choose Hand Weapon:
May benefit from an additional +1 Armor Save (HW+S)

Or you choose the great weapon:
You do not gain any benefit from the Shield. Effectively you do not have a shield while wielding a 2 handed weapon DURING combat.

21-08-2009, 15:41
So there is a benefit of arming them with shields. Thanks guys, wow you are all quick! Helps me a ton. Thanks again!

21-08-2009, 17:19
Just to clarify: Shield and GW or Flail

Out of combat = +1 AS
In combat with Handweapon = +2 AS
In combat with GW or Flail = 0 (think of it as the shield being slung over the back so both hands are free)

21-08-2009, 17:28
Keep in mind that, no matter what weapon you buy, every models also has a hand weapon or equivalent (on trolls for example: claws) and retains this no matter what.
Only when you carry a magic weapon (from the magic items section) then you cannot choose to use the hand weapon as people stated above.

21-08-2009, 17:33
And for clarification: the bonus for hand weapon and shield applies only hand weapons, not to other one-handed weapons (such as spears or morning stars).

Nurgling Chieftain
22-08-2009, 01:04
If you're in HtH combat using a two-handed weapon but take a shooting attack (normally impossible but there are exceptions which allow armor saves), do you get to use your shield?

22-08-2009, 01:31
Yes, as you get to use a shield against shooting attacks.